jump to navigation

An Albino Fungus Among Us April 10, 2014

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Crochet.
Tags:
trackback

Yes…I’m still on this mushroom jag. One of the patterns I hadn’t done yet was this toadstool, and it’s easily one of the coolest of the designs I’d bought. But I wanted to make it bigger so I went up a couple hook sizes and made it taller with the wire. And I switched yarns.

Previous shroom for scale.

Previous shroom for scale.

It’s considerably beefier than the mycena but not as tall though. That cap is two layers thick and  WAAAAYYYY  heavier than the other one. I also tried something different with the wire, threading it into the form after I’d made it (before the cap though). It…didn’t work quite as well as I’d hoped. As a result it’s not as stable as it could be. Which brings us to the next point: why white?

I switched to plain white cotton for experimentation purposes. It’s inexpensive, easy to buy in large quantities and I don’t have to get hung up on colors. This all about form. Plus, I can always add color later. 🙂

Comments

1. geoff - April 10, 2014

Seems like a business opportunity emerging.

Mitchell - April 10, 2014

Heh. I’ve already thought of a brand – Mitchshrooms™


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

