jump to navigation

Fungus Among Us April 2, 2014

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Crochet.
Tags:
trackback

There’s been a nasty fungal outbreak here in Casa Del Mitch. It’s my own fault really, I’ve been letting things slip. I took pictures, check them out:

20131212_105752-1 20131214_101628-1 20131214_102154 20131216_101032 Shroom1

Aren’t they delightful? I love mushrooms, both for eating and artsy stuff. As a pure natural form shrooms come in such a variety of shapes and colors but with a very simple formula: a stalk and a cap. This offers virtually endless possibilities to riff on the form. And riff I shall.

I made these from patterns I bough from the CAROcreated Etsy shop. I bought all of her mushroom patterns and they’re worth every penny. They’re very well done and easy to follow. Officially Endorsed. I didn’t strictly follow the color suggestions for all of them though.

Still, as fun as these are they left me with a scratch un-itched. I wanted to get some size to these things. And more color.

 

Comments

1. Lemur King - April 2, 2014

I. Am. Impressed.

That is great Mitch! The last pic captures them quite nicely.

2. jam2 - April 3, 2014

another great project!

Mushrooms remind me of this book:
The Wonderful Flight to the Mushroom Planet written by Eleanor Cameron in 1954.

it was the first science fiction novel i read…

3. fallfromgrace349 - April 3, 2014

these are awesome, the blue one is my favourite 🙂

4. Lemur King - April 4, 2014

I will pay good money if you can do a morel mushroom. My dad is an amateur myco-gastronomist.

Mitchell - April 5, 2014

*Googles morel mushrooms* …Well now, those are rather different. I’ll have to think about that one.

5. Mitchell - April 5, 2014

Thanks y’all! Next round coming up!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

