jump to navigation

BEHOLD!! February 16, 2014

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Crochet, Home, Yarncraft.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Gaze upon The Cathedral Rose Window Afghan project!

At long last, it is done! I started this thing in January on March 1st of last year. So just two weeks shy of a full year to complete. I will note that I took a few months off to work on other things. I’m so happy. 😀

CRWAFinalOn to the next one.

Edit: uploaded a better picture. Clicken to embiggen! Oh, and now what to do with it? I have a wall space in my bedroom where I thought I’d hang it but I’m not sure how one goes about hanging something like this. Digging around on the interwebs other folks have pondered the same thing. One person suggested velcro. That. Just. Might. Work. I could sew strips of the hook side at the end half-circle sections and sticky the loop strips on the wall. I’ll have to take the TV out of the bedroom though. It’s not really a loss as I can’t even remember the last time I watched anything on it. Looking at this will be so much better than a big, black rectangle. *\o/*

In case you were wondering, this afghan is exactly seven feet across. That’s a LOT of yarn.

Comments

1. Jess - February 16, 2014

Amazing. Such things are wonderful.

2. digthisbird - February 16, 2014

wow, gorgeous colors!

3. Mitchell - February 16, 2014

Thanks y’all! I’m pretty stoked about it!

4. fallfromgrace349 - February 16, 2014

I adore this. I want it in my house, looks ace 🙂

5. Steamboat McGoo - February 16, 2014

Beautiful, Mitchell! That had to be a buttload of work!

6. lucyannluna - February 17, 2014

Looks fantastic, such a lot of hard work. I’m sure it will look great where every you put it.

7. jessbryan22 - February 17, 2014

Wow, looks amazing! Well done! 🙂

8. Nicole - February 18, 2014

That is so gorgeous!!!!

Would be more work but when I used to work at a frame shop, we framed tatted doilies by using mat board for a backing and tacking it down with fishing line at all the corners. You’d have to have pretty heavy backing board for a 7′ yarn creation, though.

9. jam2 - February 19, 2014

wow

10. Mitchell - February 19, 2014

Thanks everyone! I’ll put up some more pictures of other projects soon.

11. LC Aggie Sith - February 20, 2014

Nicole has a really good idea, too. That afghan is gorgeous! What’s next on your agenda? The Sistene Chapel?? 😀

12. Lipstick - March 2, 2014

Late here (although I remember commenting on this – must have been on Facebook). So, so amazingly gorgeous! You must be so proud.

Mitchell - March 8, 2014

Thanks! Yeah, it’s nice to have a piece like this on the books. I hope to have it on the wall soon.

thirdnews - March 8, 2014

You can do it but horizontally -vertically would damage your piece. A couple of creative alternatives but I’d be tempted to find a Gothic window and re-purpose it into a table

http://homeikea.blogspot.ch/2012/04/coffee-table-coaster-frame.html

The look:


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

