jump to navigation

2012 – A Yarn Odyssey Part 6 November 30, 2012

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Crochet, Yarncraft.
trackback

Part 1 here

Although I’ve complained about it all this time, it occurs to me that I’ve never really explained what exactly makes the qiviut yarn so difficult to work with. It’s not just that it’s difficult to see, although that is certainly part of it. It also behaves strangely. I’ve already mentioned that it sticks to itself. Also the stitches don’t look like the way they do with heavier yarns. It’s very hard to make out the structure of the stitches so you know where to put the next one. It’s almost like working with quantum thread; the effect of creating a stitch creates uncertainty about where exactly it is. A typical internal dialog goes like this: “Okay. Poke this hook through here and pull up a loop. Wait, that doesn’t look right. Is that the right spot? Ehhh, pull it back out. Maybe here? Noooo, that can’t be right, pull it out again. Shit! It’s stuck! Carefulllll don’t break the thread…okay. Maybe that other spot was right after all. *Poke the hook back in, pull yarn through* DAMMIT! I only managed to get under one loop! There’s supposed to be two!  GAAAAAAAAAH!” Lather, rinse, repeat.

Anyway, the boss was interested and he wanted to know if I was open to the possibility of making the same shawl for his wife. And he said he certainly would pay for it of course. Ahhh yes – well there it is. I’m often amused by people who look at my work and say “Oh! That’s nice! You know, you could totally make a bunch of these and sell them!” LOL. Unless you’re very good and extremely fast it’s nigh impossible to make it worth your while to crochet or knit for money. Some people do, but they’re either rock stars of yarncraft who can command high prices or people in poor economic conditions. It’s one of those weird things – people LOVE nice, hand-crafted items but absolutely balk at paying the real price for them. Then they’ll go buy a cheap, greatly inferior quality version of the item made in China.

Here’s a picture of the granny square design and one of the sport-weight acrylic swatches I made:

GrannySquare

I accept the project anyway. Nooo, this is NOT brown-nosing! Mom’s yarn is on back-order for who knows how long and I’m tired of playing with the acrylics. Plus this is a chance to actually work on something and practice that pattern; I’d really like to get it memorized. It’s so much easier when you don’t have to look at a diagram every few minutes. On top of that, I get to work with a new yarn on somebody else’s dime. There’s a specific yarn used in the book for the design I’m making and it’s a cashmere/silk blend. It looks interesting and it’s not cheap: boss-man is gonna have cough up a c-note to make sure I have enough. He’s okay with it. We go through the color choices and he’s definitely keying on pink. He notices the pale one first, then gets excited over the fuchsia, “Ooh that looks nice!”. Um, no. His wife is not a 20 year old stripper. I steer him toward a darker pinkish-red. It’s very classy and it’s in stock! We haven’t discussed what I’m to be paid yet though. I need to check out the new yarn and get a rough assessment of how long the project is going to take. A few days later the yarn arrives.

To be continued…

