jump to navigation

T Minus 7 Days to National Turkification November 16, 2012

Posted by Mitchell in Food.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Thanksgiving draweth nigh! Are you prepared? I’m nearly there, myself. I have a few more things to pick up. Normally we do Thanksgiving at my parent’s house with Mom cooking the turkey and side dishes with my Dad doing the dressing. This time it’s going to be different. I’m cooking the turkey and we’ll have dinner here. They’ll still do all the side dishes and dressing and bring it all here. Over the years Mom has tried all sorts of ways to cook “the perfect turkey”. She finds new techniques in magazines and on cooking shows. Unsurprisingly, Martha Stewart has often played a role here. Still, things never quite seem to go the way they do on TV. Go figure. There’s one way she’s never tried though, and that’s the way I’m going to do it: deep frying baby! 

I know what you’re thinking: “I’ve heard that deep fried turkeys are the best, but isn’t it terribly dangerous?” Yes, I’ve heard this very often myself. But I have a couple things going for me – 1) I’m not a moron, and B) Alton Brown. Shortly after last Thanksgiving I found out he did a “Good Eats” show were he showed how to brine and deep-fry a turkey very safely. This is the method I’m going to use, right down to a T. Happily somebody uploaded it to Youtube. Here’s part one:

I bought the burner, the pot and the big brining cooler on Amazon. Free shipping for Prime members! Amazing. Also, they’re the exact same ones that Alton uses – look for the Bayou Classic brand items for frying, Igloo for brining. Tomorrow we’re going to pick up the turkey at Whole Foods. I’m looking for a Mary’s Heritage Free Range turkey. No Butterball here, which by the way are all slaughtered in accordance with Halal standards. They label very few as such though.

I’m hoping and expecting that this will be the best turkey ever. I’ll let y’all know how it turns out!

Comments

1. Lemur King - November 16, 2012

We will be there by noon.

Mitchell - November 16, 2012

Come on down! Plenty for all! 🙂

2. jam2 - November 20, 2012

i wasn’t a turkey fan until one year when i was able to prepare a few wild turkey breast fillets… marinated and grilled – they were great. one of these years i’ll step up to the deep fryer gig. until then i’ll turkifie vicariously.

3. cmblake6 - November 23, 2012

I too have a deep fryer, but I ran out of propane at just the wrong time. Best way to cook a turkey EVER!

Mitchell - November 24, 2012

Well, my first effort wasn’t entirely without a hitch. I guess I wasn’t aggressive enough with the flame control and parts of the bird were undercooked. :-(. Ah, but the breast meat was perfect! We had plenty to eat and I finished it off in the oven so it’s all good. I’ll know next time.

cmblake6 - November 24, 2012

350. 3 1/2 minutes per pound.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

