jump to navigation

Music For A McGoo November 8, 2012

Posted by Mitchell in Music.
trackback

Let’s get off the depressing shit for a bit shall we? Yes we shall!

Some while back I put up a youtube clip that sometime former blogger  / commenter Steamboat cGoo enjoyed enormously.  He indicated that he loved high energy orchestral stuff like you get from the better symphonies and movies like “Conan the Barbarian”.  Somebody track the ol’ rascal down and tell him to come over here and check this stuff out. Behold! I give you Two Steps From Hell!

Another:

This stuff just makes you want to rip your shirt off and do something epically heroic.

Black Blade:

This stuff is music for movie trailers! The’re also used in video games I believe. They’re all relatively short and insanely punchy.

They have two full albums on Amazon: Invincible and Archangel. I highly recommend both. Oh! And a new one that just came out! SkyWorld. Yay! New music for me too!

 

 

Comments

1. Steamboat McGoo - November 9, 2012

I have to sincerely thank Lemur King for bringing this post (you’re doing so few, Mitchell! But I understand.) to my attention!

You will never know the impact this most recent addition – “Two Steps from Hell” – has had on me. And not because of the election!

Mitchell, over the years you have brought COUNTLESS thoroughly rousing or heartrendingly beautiful musical compositions to my attention – like Stoyan Yankoulov’s “Water” and (the most recent) Lindsey Stirling’s “Shadows”.

From the bottom of my heart – I thank you.

My love for music started when I was eight or nine, when my school music teacher played Ravel’s arrangement of Mussorgsky’s “Pictures At An Exhibition” in class. Later that day at home I discovered that my father HAD THE F****** RECORD ALBUM!

When my father came home from work my mother whispered to him, “Little McGoo has been playing that all afternoon!” It was the first time I ever saw my father cry – silently, and with a gentle smile on his face.

He loved music too.

From that day onward to the present I have been hooked as a heroin addict on beautiful music.

Again – thank you, Mitchell!

Lemur King - November 9, 2012

Black Blade was great… As was Protectors.

Listened to the “Gladiator” soundtrack all by itself, ever? “The Might of Rome” has that epic sound as well.

Mitchell - November 10, 2012

I’ll have to check it out.

2. Steamboat McGoo - November 9, 2012

BTW: just ordered Lindsey Stirling’s cd after posting the above comment. You pried me off my ass, Mitchell. Thx!

Mitchell - November 9, 2012

I knew you’d love this stuff McGoo! You’re welcome and enjoy!

Yeah, I took a bit of a hiatus for a while. But I’m getting back into the swing of things. I’m going to try and put up at least a post a day so be sure to drop by from time to time.

Steamboat McGoo - November 9, 2012

Oh, I will! Even when you were off I was checking periodically.

3. Lemur King - November 9, 2012

The single most useful thing I did yesterday by a mile… And well worth it by a million.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

