jump to navigation

*Tap Tap Tap* Hello? Is Thing On? October 7, 2012

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Yarncraft.
Tags:
trackback

Yes, sort of – this place isn’t quite pining for the fjords just yet. I’ve been busy. Baby blankets aren’t going to crochet themselves you know. I finished off the granny square blanket this summer and started another one. The first blanket was sent off to number two niece’s number one daughter. Niece number one was preggers with son number one and recently gave birth. His blanket has been in the works since late August. I figured I should post an update since blanket number two is getting sort of close to finish.

This pattern is called “Bavarian Crochet”. I learned it from a book with some help from YouTube. I don’t know what makes it “Bavarian”. Here’s a detail shot so you can see the texture a bit better:

It’s a nice raised texture and it feels fantastic. Each color round takes two passes – the first is an eight stitch back post treble crochet decrease with a chain four before the decrease and after it with one chain binding all stitches. Then the second pass is done with eight stitch treble crochet shell increases (12 stitch increase on the corners).

You can kinda judge how big it is by the top picture – that’s a regulation size pool table it’s on. I have just four more color rounds to go. Yay!

Here’s a (poor) picture of the completed granny square blanket: 

I had better pictures but unfortunately the memory card I had in my phone took a dump and lost all my pictures. 😦

So what have y’all been  up to?

Comments

1. Lipstick - October 7, 2012

Beautiful!! I love the colors AND the patterns.

We’re in Orange County CA now instead of Texas – funny how things work out. Mr. Lipstick says hi. (he hates CA and is fighting grumpiness)

How are things with you? Did you ever post pics of your new house?

Mitchell - October 8, 2012

Thanks!

Howdy to Mr. Lipstick! How in the hell did you wind up behind enemy lines? You’re supposed to run *away* from the communists.

Things are well (though I have a bit of a cold or something today). No I never got around to doing the house tour. I need to do that. How are you?

Lipstick - October 8, 2012

The best job offer was here, so here we are. 🙂 I’m loving it!

2. Lemur King - October 7, 2012

I have no idea how you can keep the complexity in your head while you do it. My brain would quickly flit to something else and I’d screw the thing up many times before noticing that I’d even done something wrong. Very very nice, man.

Making one baby snug as a rug-bug at a time. Good on yer.

Mitchell - October 8, 2012

Thank you too!

It’s not really all that complex. The work I do in the previous round dictates what I do in the next one. That said, there are three places where you can screw up and not notice it immediately: forgetting to do the beginning or after chains in the decreases, adding an extra stitch in the shell increase or forgetting one. I do extensive back checking of previous work to help prevent this. Fortunately only the first one is catastrophic enough that you *have* to rip out the work until you get back to fix it. The other two disappear into the pattern.

3. jam2 - October 20, 2012

Mitchell,
They both look great. I’m partial to the granny square one tho… don’t know why…

-it looks like purity wrapped around a family’s heart.-

Mitchell - October 22, 2012

Ah thanks! Funny thing about these two – the Bavarian crochet is a considerably more advanced crochet technique than the granny square, but the granny square blanket was considerably more complex and time consuming to make. Each square is complete unto itself, furthermore each color in each square is complete unto itself. That equals 100’s of yarn changes and end weavings. Oi. What a chore. Contrast with just 23 color changes in the other one.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

