jump to navigation

Yarn Bomb Stage 2 – Strange Fruit January 20, 2012

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Yarncraft.
Tags:
trackback

It’s a Pom-bomb!

Pretty cool eh? I’ve added (and am going to add) more since this picture was taken this afternoon, but I was losing the light. I’ll post another update tomorrow. Now, I’m not saying nobody else has ever done the pom-bomb but I haven’t seen any to my recollection. This is a fun and very easy way to do a yarn bomb on something and you don’t even need to know how to knit or crochet at all. Pom-pom makers are cheap and can be found at any craft store that sells yarn & accessories.

Here’s how the original wrap was made and put on:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I just crocheted a long scarf-like thing alternating colors every hand width or so until it was about five feet long. Crochet material is very stretchy so I didn’t have to pay all that much attention to the width except for the very bottom. Then I just wrapped it around the tree and zipped up the back with the loose ends. Sprinkle with pom-poms for extra whimsy and there ya go.

Comments

1. Mrs. Peel - January 22, 2012

That’s cool! I like it.

Mitchell - January 23, 2012

Why thankee Mrs. Peel! I like it too. We had terrible winds blow through town yesterday and really had the pompoms flying! Well, when they weren’t getting tangled up that is.

2. LC Aggie Sith - January 24, 2012

That’s very pretty, and I do like the landscaping, too. I wish I could do that here.

3. cmblake6 - January 25, 2012

When you put stuff up it is so cool! Don’t burn out on us Mitchell, you’re too good at what you do!

4. Nicole - January 27, 2012

Looks very much like a Seussian thing. I love it!

5. Mitchell - January 27, 2012

Thanks y’all! I’m working on one for the other tree now and I’m hoping to get it up this weekend. I’ll put up pictures.

Sorry Clambake, but I’m really not feeling the blogging thing too much anymore. Maybe if I can get the twitter feed to update to the main page you can get my blather in mini-shots. It works on the sidebar.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

