jump to navigation

Too Fun Not to Post January 17, 2012

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Knitting.
trackback

Tree Sweater!

Yes, I have trees in desperate need of being more interesting, so I’m yarn-bombing them.

The tree sweater wasn’t quite ready when I took this picture but I finished it off last night. Tonight I’ll put it on for good. The next tree is going to get a more formal look in black and white stripes. Or, I guess it will look like it’s dressed up in those old timey prison uniforms. An escaped convict tree. lol.

**Edit**

I suppose I should add a few technicals: I used cheap (on sale! half off!), double-thick acrylic yarn in (mostly) double crochet (treble crochet to those of you Across the Pond) using my biggest crochet hook. It came together pretty quickly and was a good way to practice the basics after not doing any yarn craft in such a long time.

I put it on the tree last night but it was too dark to stitch up the seam. I suppose it doenn’t matter much since the yarn sticks like velcro to the bark of the tree. It looks cute! And I’m not quite done with it yet, but that will have to wait for the weekend.

Comments

1. knitnstitch - January 18, 2012

I love it!!!! If it didn’t rain so much over here I’d follow your lead!! πŸ™‚

Mitchell - January 18, 2012

Well hullo there knitnstich! Yeah, damp conditions probably won’t work very well with most yarns. Still, you can do crochet with better lasting materials that can take adverse situations. Of course they would be more expensive though.

2. Nicole - January 19, 2012

That is pretty durn adorable.

Mitchell - January 19, 2012

I think so! Just wait until you see what I do with Stage 2…

3. knitnstitch - January 19, 2012

Crochet is still an enigma to me πŸ˜›

Mitchell - January 19, 2012

Really? Between knitting & crochet I think crochet is actually the easier one to learn the basics of. One hook < two needles. πŸ˜›

4. knitnstitch - January 19, 2012

It just looks soooo fiddly! I’ll have to put it on my list of things to do!!! When’s stage 2!!

5. LC Aggie Sith - January 19, 2012

Looking forward to the second installment! Also, this totally counts πŸ˜›

6. Mitchell - January 19, 2012

Stage 2 starts tomorrow! I’ll get some better pictures posted.

7. Lemur King - January 20, 2012

Must get awful tedious and uncomfortable knitting, sorry, crocheting around a tree trunk like that. Splinters in your knuckles and kneeling in gravel doesn’t strike me as loads of fun.

Mitchell - January 20, 2012

Yeah, it really doesn’t work that way. Update coming soon.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

