jump to navigation

Mail Order Meat July 15, 2011

Posted by Mitchell in Yorling.
trackback

I continue my efforts to separate you from your (probably) ill-gotten wealth. Tonight I feature the delectable offerings of the New Braunfels Smokehouse. It’s in Texas, so you KNOW they know their meats. Do hit that link and browse around. Yes, their stuff is a bit on the pricey $ide but if you know I do love the quality stuff.ย  Now, I will admit I’ve not sampled many of their goods, but what I have tried was very, very good. Mom actually found them from a catalog. She Christmas shopped mostly from catalogs for many years so she’s probably on every single catalog mailing list there is. Anyway, one year Dad & I each got one of their 1 lb bags of beef jerky and we were both really impressed by the great flavor and texture. Mom also bought some of their sliced dried beef and made creamed chipped beefย  on toast (aka SOS to some of you out there) with it. We were all floored at how good it was. Just thinking about it makes me hungry for it again. I’ma gonna buy me some more. Yes, they have bacon too.ย  At $10.50 per pound it’s actually not all that far from what you’ll pay in the grocery store now.

Hmmm, actually I’m contemplating going whole hog with the Bacon Bonanza now.

Getcherself some grub!

Comments

1. LC Aggie Sith - July 15, 2011

Gee, that’s about 6 or 7 miles from my house. And yes, I go there at least once a month.

Wanna come for a visit?? ๐Ÿ˜€

2. Mitchell - July 15, 2011

I wondered how far away that was from you Aggie, now I know. And yes, some day I’m gonna have to go down there and mess with the Texans. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So testify sister! What’s the best of the best at the NBS?

LC Aggie Sith - July 17, 2011

Hm…love their peppered bacon (that’s an obvious choice). Also, they have very good German style wursts in several choices. Can’t go wrong there. Leberkase is not something I’m fond of, but seems to be very, very popular here. Seeing as New Braunfels was a German colony, you really can’t go wrong with anything ๐Ÿ˜‰

3. Nicole - July 15, 2011

Mom used to make creamed chipped beef on toast. Yurm. Now you done flung a cravin’ on me.

I’ll have to check out the jerky from NBS. We used to get jerky from Hickory Farms in bulk. Smothered in black pepper, paper thin and not soggy at all. Mmm- good.

4. JAM2 - July 16, 2011

oh hell…. was gonna go for an extended run this morning…. now all i can think of is bacon…..
that sure looks good.

5. LC Aggie Sith - July 17, 2011

Package on the way!!

Quick explanation: large wrapped gift- Christmas; second wrapped gift- just because; blue box gift- for your new home; little gift in gossamer bag- self explanatory ๐Ÿ™‚

Mitchell - July 18, 2011

Wow! All that for me? You really shouldn’t have, but thank you very much!

LC Aggie Sith - July 18, 2011

IS IT THERE YET?????? ๐Ÿ˜€

6. Mitchell - July 19, 2011

IT’S HERE! Wow, that was fast. Thanks so much! I’m beat, but I’ll get a brag post up soon.

7. cmblake6 - July 19, 2011

If it wasn’t hundreds of miles away, I’d probably go there for many of the meat products consumed in my house! And Aggie has seen me eat.

LC Aggie Sith - July 20, 2011

HAHAHA!!! True dat ๐Ÿ˜‰


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

