jump to navigation

The Tree Is Done! May 8, 2011

Posted by Mitchell in Art.
trackback

BEHOLD!

All right, Mr. DeMille, I'm ready for my close-up.

Clicky to embiggen.

Well…it’s done but not finished. It’s too much of a mass of red at the top so I need to adjust that. It’s not quite that much of a mass in person as you can more easily see the other colors behind the reds but yeah, needs tweaking. Also this isn’t the final version of the project – this is the mobile one I’m taking into work tomorrow so check back soon for the final unveiling and title.

Other angles below the fold:


Comments

1. Cruel Wife - May 9, 2011

Uhhhh…what is it? XD

2. Cruel Wife - May 9, 2011

Other than “A tree”, that is. lol

3. Mitchell - May 9, 2011

This is a dead bonsai tree revitalized as an art project over the last three weeks. Initially I applied three washes of gesso to seal and prepare the surfaces of the tree. Then I spent huge chunks of the next couple of weekends hand painting the thing with watercolors.

4. Retired Geezer - May 9, 2011

*Geezer wonders if the watercolors used were the ones that were gifted from Camp Geezer ™…

Mitchell - May 9, 2011

Ah, no RG. I used the fine products of Daniel Smith for this project.

5. Tushar - May 9, 2011

Nice!

6. LC Aggie Sith - May 9, 2011

Ooooh, purdy!!

I thought it looked nice just with the gesso, but the colors are amazing.I love the way you transitioned them. But the red needs tweaking ๐Ÿ˜‰

Mitchell - May 9, 2011

It’s weird how much the red stands out in these pictures. It’s not really that dominant in real life.

7. Nicole - May 9, 2011

Very keen!

8. Cruel Wife - May 10, 2011

Very nice. Thanks for the back-history. ๐Ÿ™‚

9. Lemur King - May 14, 2011

What, you been e:mailing Cruel Wife behind my back?

Please, go ahead. Maybe she’ll give me some more peace if she’s occupied.

(smartass mode alert)

So what does it *do*? Can it dance if you hook it to your iPod? Does it glow or maybe talk to you when you walk by it? AAA batteries or AA?

(smartass mode alert ended)

Nice. I like the colors, especially the deep almost-cobalt blue. Always been a fan of cobalt blue. Does it burn through your watercolors very fast to do a project like this?

10. Lemur King - May 14, 2011

Nevermind. Saw comment #3 where you provided the back-story.

If I give you her e:mail can you take her off my hands for a while? ๐Ÿ™‚

(yes, I know she’ll read this – I think I already said I was in a smartass mood)

11. Mitchell - May 14, 2011

She just showed up here on her own accord LK. No behind-the-back cahooting for us. And sorry, my hands are full of slacking off as it is.

As for the colors, that’s actually Pthalo Blue (red shade). It’s very pretty. Watercolor paint is very concentrated and Daniel Smith paints are very high quality with no brighteners or extenders. A little bit goes a pretty long way.

12. Lemur King - May 14, 2011

She was prowling around A&A back when taobmaetS ooGcM was the proprietor as well.

It kept her busy. Out of my hair.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

