jump to navigation

Turn, Turn, Turn March 14, 2011

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Home.
trackback

So this weekend I actually got perilously close to actually doing something kinda/sorta productive. I know! I am as shocked and scared as you are at this news!

BEHOLD! The mighty Hat Rack!

Hat Rack Bottom

That is the bottom. This is the top part of it:

Hat Rack Top

No, I didn’t make this. Don’t be silly. This would be my father’s handiwork. What I did though was to try my hand at Dad’s lathe and turning the pegs for the hats to hang from. This is my first practice run at it:

The thought behind this idea is to have a series of pegs in the bottom part to hang the hats and the top part is a shelf for more hats. It will hold 8 broad brimmed hats easily. The wood is alder, which is very pretty. But it is on the softer end of the spectrum and doesn’t take small detail very well. I’m going to change the design and try it again next weekend.

Comments

1. Nicole - March 14, 2011

Very nice! Gotta watch that productivity though. It can sneak up on you.

Mitchell - March 16, 2011

I know! I had to lie down for a bit afterward.

2. LC Aggie Sith - March 16, 2011

This is awesome, Mitchell!

You know what you need? More hats!!

3. Mitchell - March 16, 2011

I think you’re right. They’ll come in handy after the econopocalypse.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

