jump to navigation

Sunday Night Poetry February 21, 2011

Posted by Mitchell in Bad Times Ahead, Home.
trackback

The Second Coming

Turning and turning in the widening gyre
The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
The best lack all conviction, while the worst
Are full of passionate intensity.

Surely some revelation is at hand;
Surely the Second Coming is at hand.
The Second Coming! Hardly are those words out
When a vast image out of Spiritus Mundi
Troubles my sight: a waste of desert sand;
A shape with lion body and the head of a man,
A gaze blank and pitiless as the sun,
Is moving its slow thighs, while all about it
Wind shadows of the indignant desert birds.
The darkness drops again but now I know
That twenty centuries of stony sleep
Were vexed to nightmare by a rocking cradle,
And what rough beast, its hour come round at last,
Slouches towards Bethlehem to be born?

-William Butler Yeats

This was written in 1919 in response to the War to End All Wars. The rough beast still slouched around after that, and after Dubya Dubya Two – The Electric Bugaloo, and of course all the rest that followed after that. Yeats was a poet, not a prophet but I look at the events unfolding in the world now and the line “Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold” is resonating with me. Also the last two lines of the first stanza makes my blood run cold.

In other news – my emergency supply backpack and toolbag are nearly complete! One more trip to the grocery store and some deliveries from Amazon will have it all wrapped up. Yesterday I went around to the three Army / Navy surplus stores in town and unexpectedly found two of them closed (kinda-sorta looking permanently closed). Fortunately the last one was open and they were doing a fairly brisk business. I was looking for hiking boots and while they didn’t have the size/style I was looking for, I still picked up a nice small hand-shovel & Marine Corp desert camo hat. I took a hard look at all their stuff and I’ll definitely go back. Next up is to start laying in a stockpile of stores to weather the upcoming storm. I understand that the Mormons have some experience in this department and I will seek their advice.

In other-other news, my home value has dropped another ten thousand dollars in the last year or so and I now owe 271% over it. Wahoo.

Comments

1. Lemur King - February 21, 2011

Yeats outdid himself with that one.

“The centre cannot hold” is enough to chill your bones.

Make sure you find some ammo boxes that are the sealed type, too. Veeeeery useful.

2. Mitchell - February 21, 2011

Yeah many ammo boxes were on the shelf too. Definitely on the shopping list.

3. Nicole - February 21, 2011

You really are getting spooked, aren’t you? Nothing wrong with being prepared though and it is true that things don’t seem to be looking up at all.

4. Mitchell - February 21, 2011

Yup, I surely am Nicole. I have a Han Solo-sized Bad Feeling About This. And now I’ve got a $2000+ car repair bill. Yay.

5. geoff - February 23, 2011

I watched that fellow’s video that you linked a while back, and I came away unimpressed. The guy didn’t even understand how unemployment data works. And he was obviously in a selling mode.

That said, there are real issues with the likelihood of inflation (as we watch gas and food skyrocket) and with debt. The nice thing about the debt battles that New Jersey and Wisconsin are fighting are really underscoring how different this is than the “business as usual” attitude of California and federal democrats.

But housing prices only have 10 – 15% more to drop before they’re in line with pre-bubble values. And businesses are moving again.

So don’t panic yet.

6. Lemur King - February 23, 2011

How abooooouuuuuuut… NOW?

Can I panic now?

Ok.

Now?

🙂

7. Mitchell - February 23, 2011

Mmmhmmm. Well that’s good news. As my home is currently only 271% underwater I’d really like to see that get to an even 300%. I like round numbers. Can we do it? YES WE CAN! Yaaaaayy!

8. Mitchell - February 23, 2011

Panic? Not me. I’m buying a towel.

9. cmblake6 - February 27, 2011

Good, good. Got to have that.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

