jump to navigation

I Got Lightning! December 31, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Science & Technology.
trackback

Looky What I Got

This here is  a Lichtenberg figure that blogbuddy Lemur King sent me.  Isn’t it gorgeous?  Basically they take a particle accelerator and shoot electrons at this block of acrylic which then builds up an electric charge until it’s strong enough to overcome the natural electric resistance in the acrylic and POW!  It discharges and makes all these cool fractures inside the block.  Then you set it on top a nifty base with pretty blue LEDs and there ya go.  Thank you Lemur King!  This is an awesome present!

Comments

1. Lemur King - December 31, 2010

What to get the man who has Yorled everything?

Why, lightning in a bottle… Glad you like it!

2. Nicole - January 1, 2011

That is super cool! Gorgeous and unique.

3. cmblake6 - January 1, 2011

AWESOME!
On that note, have some trance: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V21ONmJ_pSc

Mitchell - January 2, 2011

Yeah that’s not Trance Clambake. That’s just Extremely Annoying.

4. Lipstick - January 2, 2011

Verrrry cool and beautiful!

5. LC Aggie Sith - January 4, 2011

Oooooh…..

*gazes rapturously*

*files away for future Hubby gifting*

6. Steamboat McGoo - January 5, 2011

That’s really really neat!

7. Cruel Wife - January 5, 2011

You’re welcome, Mitch! Thank you for the lovely Girl Genius print that you sent me for Christmas. I was surprised, to say the least!

8. Cruel Wife - January 5, 2011

Oh, did I ever tell you that I own one of the original drawings from GG Vol. 1? I was barely aced out of this one.

http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php?date=20021127

Someone had more money to throw at it than I, so they won the auction. I was disappointed because I’m something of a lab rat myself. Afterwards, the seller contacted me directly and asked if I would like to buy another one of his originals that he was planning to sell to pay for his spending spree at Comic Con. This is what I got.

http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php?date=20030207

I have the original line drawing, before they started digitally coloring the volume. (Interestingly, there is no text on it because they add that digitally after they scan the drawing.) I’ll have to hang your print on one side of it, and the coffee engine print that I bought on the other side. It will become my Homage to Girl Genius wall! I’ll take a pic of it when I finally get around to hanging them up. 🙂

9. Mitchell - January 5, 2011

Well I wanted to get you something too as a thank you for introducing me to this strip. I love that poster and I have a large version of it myself.

Oh, very nice indeed CW! Prof. Foglio has a wonderful drawing style.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

