jump to navigation

Quickee Movie Reviews December 22, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Music.
trackback

I’m on vacation all this week so I went to see a couple of movies.   First up was TRON: Legacy.  Of course we’ve been looking at the trailers for months now and I really wanted to see this one.  It seems to be getting mixed reviews but I really enjoyed it.  The visuals were gorgeous.

The graphics weren’t bad either!  Seriously you get to watch her running around in this really tight suit for most of the pic.  I think we’ll be seeing a lot more of Olivia Wilde in the future.  I went full boat and saw it in IMAX 3D and thought it was well worth the price.  My main criticism for this picture is that for a Tron movie, Tron himself isn’t much in it.  The music was incredible and I bought the soundtrack off of Amazon.com the instant I got home and now it’s here!  I suspect that many, many people will become familiar with the work of Daft Punk.

Yesterday I went to see Black Swan while the maids were cleaning up the house.  Black Swan is a psychological thriller about ballet starring Natalie Portman.  And yes, it features a lesbian love scene with her and Mila Kunis.  And yes, that was a factor in deciding to see this particular movie.  That, and it was coming on at the right time when I hit the theater.  And no, you don’t really get to see anything.  Which may be a factor for you in deciding to see this movie.  I won’t say too much about it for fear of spoilers, but basically Natalie’s character has a very difficult time handling the pressure of performing a dual nature character in an upcoming big production of Swan Lake.  It was a bit slow in it’s pacing, but overall I did like it.  It was creepy and it kept you guessing all the way to the end.  Not everyone “got” this movie though I could tell.  One group left the theater laughing and one guy in the group expressed it as “What? The? Hell?”

Comments

1. Mitchell - December 22, 2010

I just popped the CD out of the case. Huh. I’ve never seen a CD like this before.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

