jump to navigation

Beautiful Things December 20, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

I went Christmas shopping out in the actual public rather than on-line today.   Every year I have to make at least one trip to the Forum Shops at Caesar’s Palace.  I’m shopping for my mother and she’s very difficult to buy things for.  The first shop to catch my eye was Swarovski Crystal where they have sparkly stuff.  Check out the crystal flowers:

I liked this blue one too.  They are $245 each.  I think she would like one of these, but I’m not certain.  She doesn’t have much in they way of this kind of stuff now so that’s why I’m not real sure.

Next I wandered into a store that specialized in cashmere stuff.  I talked to a sales lady and she showed me some very lovely shawls and stoles.

This is 75/25 cashmere and silk and they have them in various colors.   I like purple.   Lucky me they are having a sale and this is 30% off the original $575 price so about $400.  They had some that were over $2000.  Yikes!   But here again I’m not real sure – Mom doesn’t do the shawl / scarf thing very often.

Over at Baccarat Crystal they had this nifty looking tree for $275:

Again, another crystal gewgaw.  It would get packed up with the rest of the Christmas decorations after New Years and not seen again until sometime in early December.

Thoughts?

Comments

1. Nicole - December 20, 2010

I would not do the Christmas tree unless she collects crystal or if you give her something for a Christmas collection every year – like I give my mother in law an ornament every year.

The blue flower is gorgeous. Just because someone doesn’t already have things of a certain kind isn’t necessarily indicative of not liking them. You probably have a pretty good feel for what your mother likes.

The scarf is lovely and I bet it feels wonderful. I’d still go with the crystal flower, though. If something isn’t really to someone’s taste, they are more likely to put something on display than to wear something they don’t really like. 🙂

2. Mitchell - December 21, 2010

GAH! Now I know what she wants for Christmas! Dammit. I told myself to get this last year but forgot. She wants me to knit her something from Qiviut yarn. It’s the softest and most expensive yarn you can buy at $90 per ounce / 218 yards at lace weight. Qiviut blows cashmere away.

3. Nicole - December 21, 2010

Doh! Best get to knitting. 😛

4. Mitchell - December 22, 2010

Yeah, I’m gonna have to do a lame homemade “Gift Certificate” thing. It’s far too late to order the yarn and anyway we’ll need to decide on the best color she wants and a pattern she likes (and one I can actually do).

5. LC Aggie Sith - December 22, 2010

Jeez, Mitch… What kind of a son are that forgets to get his mom a prese—

OMIGOD!!!! I FORGOT MY DAD!!!!

FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

*runs to store*

6. Mitchell - December 22, 2010

I didn’t forget! I’ve been looking! Did you not look at the stuff I posted here as potentials? I just forgot about the qiviut yarn angle. Here’s a potential pattern: Double Diamond Shawl. But not in green. She really doesn’t like green.

7. Lipstick - December 24, 2010

That blue flower thing is exquisite!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

