jump to navigation

Meet The Twins September 26, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

Serious Yorling Business

I meant to post about this ages ago, but for some reason I never got around to it until now.  Just before I went on vacation in August I bought these:

These are nigh top of the line Kenmore Elite clothes washer & dryer.  Yes, they are VERY expensive.  My old dryer decided that it didn’t want to dry anymore and I had issues with my washer; lately it had started putting random rust-like stains on my clothes.  Pfeh.  I didn’t even bother to get them looked at, I wanted New Stuff.  So after a couple days of going to all the usual places and pricing things out I just decided to go with Sears and a pair of top-end things.

My previous washer was one of those high-efficiency front loader deals. Both of these machines qualify as high-efficiency too. The washer detects how much water is needed for the load and automatically selects the best level.  It doesn’t have a big central agitator, so it’s more gentle on clothes and had a HUGE capacity. The dryer knows when its load is dry and automatically shuts off, but will still tumble the clothes periodically to keep them from wrinkling. On top of that it has steam functions for wrinkle removing, refreshing, and sanitizing. Neat!

Comments

1. LC Aggie Sith - September 27, 2010

Me likey! What brand did you have before?

2. Nicole - September 27, 2010

Pretty!

3. Mitchell - September 27, 2010

The previous ones were Kenmore as well, bought used from a cow-irker.

LC Aggie Sith - September 28, 2010

Mine are Whirlpool Duet. I wanted Kenmore, but they don’t sell them through the military 🙂

4. Steamboat McGoo - September 27, 2010

I’ve always had a serious distrust of front-loader washers, although I’ve never actually heard (first-person) of a mishap. Congrats, Mitchell!

Now the money-question: Are they quiet?!

I’ve always felt the for clothes washers & dryers and dishwashers, the quality touchstone was how much friggin’ noise they made.

5. Mitchell - September 27, 2010

The mold issue is partially due to the design; you really have to clean out the big rubber gasket that seals the door. All the time. I’m lazy. You do the math. Another part of the problem was that the previous owners had it sitting around for several months, with the door closed and water sitting in it. Yeah. I thought that several loads just run with a bunch of bleach would do the trick. But you never really kill mold, you can only beat it back for a while.

Oh yes, McGoo! They’re very quiet. I often forget that I’m even running them.

6. Steamboat McGoo - September 27, 2010

That’s as it should be, Mitchell! (the quietness, that is.) The one I have now is a new one I bought in a hurry from American Appliance when the one in the house I bought failed at exactly the wrong time.

This new one can’t fail soon enough.

Buy in haste – repent at leisure, for YEARS.

7. Nicole - September 27, 2010

Verrah pretty.

8. Lemur King - September 28, 2010

I love how you can put entire vehicles in the washer. Ours is that big. Saves on water for bath night – put in the kids, add soap and *presto* – 30 minutes later all sparkly and clean.

Sheesh if only it were that easy.

Aren’t they just the quietest darned things tho? Ours are right below our bedroom and you can’t hear a thing. (of course that’s not saying much for me)

9. Logo Conundrum « Lemur King's Folly - September 28, 2010

[…] I was just reminded of this by Mitchell’s posting about washer and dryers… […]

10. Lipstick - September 30, 2010

The dryer knows when its load is dry and automatically shuts off, but will still tumble the clothes periodically to keep them from wrinkling. On top of that it has steam functions for wrinkle removing, refreshing, and sanitizing.

The housewifely part of me just fainted. *thud* That is so cool!

11. Mitchell - September 30, 2010

Lol! They’re definitely the best appliances I’ve ever owned. I love the blue glowyness of the controls and delightful chimes that they make as you select the options.

12. Lipstick - September 30, 2010

I HATE front-loaders. They don’t get the dirt out and the paltry water rationing “feature” doesn’t even get the soap out.

13. mel - October 9, 2010

I am so jealous.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

