jump to navigation

My Crass Materialism Knows No Bounds August 24, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Home, Vacation.
trackback

Somebody Send the iPod Toting Zombies After Me*

On the trip we spent some time at Jackson Hole which is just outside the Grand Tetons National Park .  It’s kind of a tourist trap with TONS of shops all around the town center.  Mostly crap but some genuinely interesting stores too.  We parked near one that had fur underwear for men & women in the window.  Alas, we only went through a fraction of them before getting chased away by rain. Anyway, one of the places we did go into was Wilcox Gallery and much pretty stuff was found therein.  Yes, they had the frogs, but those weren’t really what I was interested in.  Old and busted: bronze frogs, the New Hotness: bronze kittehs! <-You go clicky nao!

The artist is Jan Rosetta and she does lots of very nice sculptures of stylized animals.  Now, the frogs notwithstanding I generally don’t go in for animal art particularly, but I really dig her stuff, and I’ll always love the kitties.  I almost bought that bobcat mask but at 2.17 SLB’s I just couldn’t justify the expense right now.  Particularly not after just buying The Twins the week before.  I have to impose some semblance of fiscal restraint on myself.  So, no sale.  Yet.

Later on in the trip we hit a place just outside of Monument Valley called Twin Rocks Trading Post and it’s a couple shops with a restaurant there and we stopped for some pictures and a leg stretch.  One of the stores was nice jewelry store and we looked around for a bit.  Again, I generally don’t go for the silver & turquoise stuff that you see so often around the southwest but a small rack of rings caught my eye and I asked to look at them closer.  A couple of them really interested me and one of those fit perfectly.  As it was only .67 SLBs I went ahead and bought it.

Navajo Bling:

I got your "Fiscal Restraint" right here

Oh, and after we left Twin Rocks we started passing a lot of these little stands where other Navajos set up their jewelry displays waiting for rich tourists to pass by and stop to buy their stuff. Monument Valley is entirely on reservation land and there were lots of these stands out there. I felt kinda bad that I’d already spent my Mad Money buying a ring at a fancy store instead of one of these roadside stands.

Comments

1. Lemur King - August 24, 2010

Crass is good. Materialistic is good.

But to put them together in one package like that… why that’s a herculean feat.

Fur undies? You know, you never did say whether you bought any… and no, don’t wanna see any pics if you did. 🙂

2. Enas Yorl - August 24, 2010

I rock no fur down there but my own LK! And NO there will be no pictures.

3. Enas Yorl - August 24, 2010

*notes the power of the linkback to drive commentariat.

4. LC Aggie Sith - August 24, 2010

Fur…undies….

…….

All I can picture is Raquel Welch 😉

5. Nicole - August 24, 2010

Ooo… bobcat mask… way cool.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

