jump to navigation

Back to Watercolors June 20, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Watercolor.
trackback

I want to get back into painting again, so I am!  It’s been a while so my skills are rusty.  To help me get back into it again I subscribed to a watercolor magazine to help me figure out where I can improve and whatnot.  One of the articles featured some desert scenes paintings by…er, I don’t know his name Sterling Edwards.  I really like them so decided to copy one just to get into the swing of things.  Check it out:

10 x 7 inches on Arches 140lb cold-press paper

This is just a small one and my colors aren’t as good as his. Also, I still have this frustrating tendency to fuss and fiddle with my painting. Grr. Clean strokes dammit!  Gotta run to the stores but I’ll be sure to give proper attribution to the original artist when I get back. 
**Udate**  Artist attributed above.  Sterling Edwards is the fellow’s name and he does REALLY nice stuff.  Go look:  at sterlingedwards.com.  That’s beautiful work there Mr. Edwards.
Comments

1. LC Aggie Sith - June 20, 2010

Mighty pretty, Enas. I like watercolors, especially dark ones. For some reason pastel watercolors tend to make me want cotton candy 🙂

2. Enas Yorl - June 20, 2010

There, I brightened up this picture a bit to be more like the real one.

There’s a certain quality to watercolor that makes them look so neat. I wish I could capture that quality consistently. :-/

3. Nicole - June 20, 2010

Very nice. I could never get the hang of watercolors. I always used them like acryclics. 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

