jump to navigation

Gettin’ Up In My Grill May 28, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Food, Home.
trackback

Another thing I bought last weekend was my very first grill!  Yes, it’s a bit odd that I’m 40 and only now own a grill, but I don’t like to cook in general so I just never got around to it.  I guess it goes back to being a cook in my younger days and I generally hated those jobs but I didn’t have any other marketable skill so that’s what I did.  Anyway, my new way of eating dictates that I avoid pre-cooked, pre-packaged foods and most white-flour carb-type stuff which eliminates, ohhh about 90% of the stuff available in the typical grocery store.  My idea is to grill up a bunch of fresh animal things on the weekend that I can dole out through the week for lunch and dinner.  This lets me avoid doing a lot of cooking and yet makes it easier to stay on the diet.  That’s the plan anyway.  But enough jibber-jabber – let’s meet the meatcooker!

Behold!


This is the Char-Broil Quantum Infrared grill. One of the guys at work raved about his infrared grill and couldn’t recommend it high enough. I looked at several at Lowe’s and Home Depot and was considering a somewhat less expensive, yet bigger conventional grill.  But there’s just me and I don’t really need a big, four-burner grill so I went with this one instead.  Interestingly, Home Depot and Lowe’s sell similar yet slightly different versions of this grill at the exact same price.  I went with the Lowe’s version because the store was a bit closer.  The Big Thing about IR grills is that the heat is indirect so it’s supposedly more even heating while protecting against overcooking but it’s still really hot.  So far I’ve only used it once for a bunch of chicken breasts and they turned out very good.  Here’s a close-up of the business end of the thing:

I didn’t do a bunch of research on grills before I went out and got this one and the reviews I’ve read since then are a bit of a mixed bag.  It seems that Char-Broil grills are a bit prone to rusting.  Fortunately since I live in the driest desert in North America I don’t see that being too big of a problem :-).  Another complaint I read about this is how the holes get clogged easily and then it stops working right.  But then there are a bunch of others that absolutely love this thing.  I guess I’ll find out on which side I’ll be on soon enough.

So, since I’m new at this grilling thing, any suggestions from the Peanut Gallery?  Any advise and/or recipes are welcome!

Comments

1. Nicole - May 28, 2010

ooo… shiny…..

Advice? Grill. Everything. Even veggies and fruits. 🙂

2. Pupster - May 30, 2010

Easy, cheap marinade – Italian dressing. I buy a couple of bottles and a package of individually frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I’ve actually dumped the marinade in the package and let them thaw and marinade at the same time, then toss them on the grill and viola, a whole weeks worth of chicken.

If you brush it on veggies and grill them it tastes pretty good too.

3. C Monster - May 30, 2010

Delmonicos, Beer, and more Delmonicos. And when you’re done…more Delmonicos. More beer. Repeat as needed.

4. Enas Yorl - May 31, 2010

5. Nicole - May 31, 2010

On a more comprehensive note, here’s a link to a search on my site for “grilled.” It isn’t picking up the newer recipes, though. Not sure why. nicolesrecipes.com if you want to browse for more. 🙂

http://search.freefind.com/find.html?id=19416472&pid=r&mode=ALL&n=0&query=grilled

Some favorites:

Grilled Corn on the Cob with Chipotle Butter
Honey Lime Grilled Chicken
Honey Cumin Barbecue Pork Packets
Zesty Grilled Corn (I love grilled corn, can you tell?)
Black Pepper-Crusted Grilled Ribeye with Blue Cheese-Pecan Butter (sounds fancy but is easy)
Tenderloin Steaks with Chive & Bacon Butter

Not positive how cooking times would be impacted by the IR grill instead of gas/charcoal.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

