jump to navigation

Home Improvement Cont’d May 25, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

Phase II – Maid Service

Last week I finally followed through and arranged for a maid service to come out and give me an estimate.  The price was reasonable at $175 each for the first two visits to give the place a good once-over and then 90 bucks every other week to keep the place up.  Today’s the first day so I’m keen to see how they did when I get home tonight.  Yah, they’re gonna work when I’m not there.  I don’t like to watch other people working and I figured no maid service is going to be in business very long if stuff went missing from their customers’ homes.  I do wonder what kind of stuff they say about the homes they clean to others.  “I can’t believe people actually live this way – they’re such pigs!”  I bet they have interesting stories though.  What do y’all think?  Will my place become a source of Interesting Stories?  I also wonder how many of their customers clean like mad the days before they show up so they won’t become an Interesting Story?  I know I sure did.  Oh don’t worry, I left them plenty of work still to do.

More to come…

Okay, so I went home after hitting the gym and found the place pretty well cleaned up.  I was particularly pleased at the dusting done.  I hate dusting so I rarely do it and I’d built up a pretty thick layer.  All gone!  They also neatened up some of the clutter piles around.  I was amused by some of the clever towel folding like what you see in hotels and they even arranged the soap and shampoo bottles in the shower in a neat little pattern.  Hell, they even cleaned my toaster oven!  I wasn’t expecting that actually.  Yes indeedy – I can get used to this pretty quick.

Comments

1. Lipstick - May 25, 2010

Hide your passport. Hide it real good. I had a maid swipe mine some years ago.

2. Steamboat McGoo - May 26, 2010

Better yet – get a safe. A big eff’er that will bolt to the floor in a closet.

Then keep all your valuables (passports, guns, money, guns, jewelery, guns, etc) in it – including your guns. Most safes will allow for key-only locking, rather than spinning the combination dial, so all you have to do is key-lock it on maid-days, and unlock it otherwise. That allows you access to those valuables you use regularly. I use key-lock on mine almost exclusively. I almost never spin the dial except when I’m leaving for days or weeks..

3. Enas Yorl - May 26, 2010

I need to figure out where I put my passport again. I’m pretty sure it’s in a box of stuff I cleaned out of some drawers recently. I used to keep it in a bank safe deposit box but I used it recently to renew my driver’s license and never put it back.

A safe! There’s an idea McGoo. I’ll have to think about it.

4. LC Aggie Sith - May 27, 2010

MAID SERVICE????

Sheeee-it…. 😀

Yes, you need to keep important papers in a safe, dear. We have a fire safe that is portable for emergencies. But if you have someone coming in, you want something heavy, preferably bolted to the floor.

5. Enas Yorl - May 27, 2010

Ya, livin’ the high life at Casa Del Yorl these days Aggie! You ought to get one too, you’ll be glad you did. 🙂

I just don’t have that many Important Papers around here. I don’t have much in the way of jewelry either and I can always take that with me, like I did last time. I have a free safe deposit box at the bank I use for some stuff.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

