jump to navigation

Home Improvement May 24, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

Stand Back!  He’s Spending Money Again!

A few weeks ago I looked at my checking account and saw that it had waaay too much money in it and I decided it was time to do something about it (yeah I know – y’all wish you had my problems).  A big chunk of it I threw into savings but held a fair chunk in to pay for some new goodies and improvements to the Casa Del Yorl.  The last couple weeks it all started happening.  🙂

Phase 1:  The Living Room

Actually this part didn’t really use any money, since I was the beneficiary of my Parental Units’ decision to get new stuff and I got the hand-me-downs.  Remember a few months ago when they got they got the fancy frog-table?  I started laying the groundwork by placing notions in their heads about them considering other upgrades and my evil plans paid off even better than I expected.  Not only did they get other new tables they got a new couch, chair and rugs too!  Check out my new living room (clicky to embiggen):

This is living!

It’s not that I had bad stuff before – it’s just that it was too much furniture, too big and just not as nice as this. First I had to get rid of my couch and chairs and I lucked out by selling it all to someone at the office just a couple of days before my parents got theirs delivered.  They even went in half for the u-haul so we had an easy time to get this over to my place.  Well, the couch and chair anyway.  The tables I actually got a few weeks before.  Can you see them?  They’re actualy big ol’ gnarly massive root balls of (I think) manzanita.  They were fairly ‘$pen$ive when they originally bought them and it’s very difficult to find anything like them.  I’ll get some closeups posted soon.

Comments

1. cmblake6 - May 24, 2010

NIIIIICE!

2. LC Aggie Sith - May 25, 2010

This is a guy’s living room…

But you need some COLOR!!! 🙂

Enas Yorl - May 25, 2010

Whatchoo talkin’ ’bout? There’s plenty of color!

…Well ok. I guess it is kinda earthtoney.

LC Aggie Sith - May 27, 2010

Yes, earth tones are nice, especially in the area you live. But the walls are so stark, they make the furniture look dead. This is the blooming interior decorator in me talking, by the way.

The stuff you have is primo, though… me, I would be re-arranging like there’s no tomorrow, making sure the tables were very prominently displayed 😀

3. Nicole - May 25, 2010

Very nice! I love the table and the carpet. 🙂

4. Enas Yorl - May 27, 2010

Yes, the walls. I’m tired of the all-white walls, I’ll admit. Upstairs in one of the spare bedrooms I did one wall in a greyish blue Venetian Plaster. It looks gorgeous but man what a pain in the butt to do. It takes at least three coats scraped on with a trowel thingy, some light sanding and then you have to hand-rub the entire thing to complete the finish. And ex$pensive too, like 40 bucks per can. Still, I would like to do the whole house with it in different colors. That would be spectacular.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

