jump to navigation

No More Pencils, No More Books… May 11, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Home.
trackback

No More Classmates’ Dirty Looks

School’s out!  Well, there’s one more class next Friday but we just go in to pick up our portfolios and find out our grade for the class.  Last week was a busy time for me as I was making up for some stuff that I’d missed when my sister was in town and general slackitude.  I thought I was going to still be one drawing short but it turned out that we didn’t need to turn in one of the ones I was missing so that turned out ok.  Here’s the last one I did:

Ehhh.  I really need to work on my portrait skills, but hopefully good enough to get me a ok grade.  The goal of this project was to draw something realistic and incorporate forms from stencils we made into the composition.  My original idea was to use the violin stencils to form notes swirling around the figure and her violin, but that was waaaaaaay too complicated for something that needed to be cranked out fairly quickly so I scaled back to this and got it done in about three to four hours.  I’m curious as to how the final grade will turn out.

I have to say that this was the oddest art classes I’ve ever had.  We never did a single critique and the teacher did almost no demonstrations whatsoever and had very few examples on hand to show how other students approached the subjects.  She explained some of this in part due to recent changes in the class parameters and her digital picture archive getting accidentally wiped.  Sure, it’s ART 101 – the most beginning of “Beginner” classes but still I expected more substance to it.  Oh well.  I’m sure I passed and now at least I have ART101 on the books at this school so I won’t have that pesky prerequisite blocking classes I might want to take later.

Comments

1. Nicole - May 12, 2010

I think it turned out very nicely, Enas. Very well done indeed.

2. Enas Yorl - May 12, 2010

Her right eye is messed up. As is so often the case trying to fix it made it worse. I bought some more books to help me learn faces and anatomy better. More practice would help too.

3. The Monster - May 12, 2010

The face is well mashed into the violin. The bow bifurcating the image, serious/fanciful is a nice touch.
Well done.

I bid 500 quatloos.

4. Mrs. Peel - May 12, 2010

Yes, her right eye is off, but everything else is excellent. I agree with The Monster on the bow – it’s a great element of the composition.

5. geoff - May 13, 2010

so I scaled back to this and got it done in about three to four hours.

Even given unlimited time and resources, I still could never create anything like that. Pretty cool.

6. LC Aggie Sith - May 13, 2010

I quite like it, even with the eyes….makes her look a bit more realistic, in a way.

I wonder what she would have looked like with her eyes shut, revelling in the music?

7. mel - May 13, 2010

Well I’m no art critic, but I love it much.

8. Enas Yorla - May 14, 2010

Aw, thanks y’all! You’re far too kind.

Welcome Mel! Glad you dropped by!

9. Steamboat McGoo - May 14, 2010

What Geoff said, Enas. I could never do anything like that. You gots a good eye, dude! I like the violin and violin silhouettes.

10. Lemur King - May 18, 2010

What Aggie said. I prefer some imperfection rather than perfection that never existed this side of heaven. But that is just me.

I like it a lot, honestly.

Heck, can you imagine how scrunched up my face would be if I was trying to play a violin? MUCH worse than that. 🙂

11. Enas Yorl - May 18, 2010

Y’all like it more than I do. If’n anybody wants it I’ll tube it up and send it to you.

12. cmblake6 - May 19, 2010

Check this music!!!!!!

13. cmblake6 - May 19, 2010

Sorry for the OT, but you might like it.

14. Enas Yorl - May 19, 2010

Ulrich! TheSchnaussman! Awesome chillout music from him. I only recently became aware of his stuff myself cmblake! I don’t think I’ve heard this one before though. Thanks for the vid!

15. cmblake6 - May 19, 2010

Sorry comments are closed for this entry

