jump to navigation

Maid To Order March 30, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

This Knicknackery Ain’t Gonna Dust Itself You Know

I’ve figured out a new way to spend money!  I’m going to hire somebody to come over and clean my stuff for me.  About darned time too – I’m tired of doing this myself.  I’ve been getting these flyers in the mail for a maid service for a while now and I gotta say they really got me to thinking about hiring them.  I detest house cleaning.  I have no aptitude for it at all, and I slack on it all the time.  A while back my parental units mentioned that they were considering getting one too, so I gave Mom one of the flyers I got.  Today she finally called them and arranged for a one-time all-over deep cleaning at their place, after which the company will do a quote to come back to periodic maintenance cleanings.  It’s only $130 for the one time thing and their house is considerably larger than mine, so you know the same job for me will come down a fair bit from that.  I gotta say that’s totally do-able for me.  The older I get the more I value my time and I’ve got better things to do with it than scrubbing sinks and whatnot.  We’ll see how well this company does over at the Parental Units’ place and if they do a good job I’ll get them to do mine. 

It occurs to me that maid services could probably really use the business these days, so doing this is helping to stimulate the economy.  Hell, you could even say it was patriotic to do so!  Well, ok – maybe YOU wouldn’t, but I would.  This will probably mean that I’ll need to cut back on buying stuff to pay for it, but that’s ok.  I’ll start doing that soon.  Right after I buy a kiln.  And a ceiling fan for my bedroom and the electrician to install it.  I totally need one of those for the summer coming up.  But after that, my budget goes on a diet!  Yessireebob.

Comments

1. cbullitt - March 30, 2010

Yes…minions.
It’s well know that those of us who know about these things should always have minions.
They are good for the soul as well as the back.
Yes,I’m all for minions.

2. LC Aggie Sith - March 30, 2010

I want a minion…

So, a kiln? Taking up glass arts of ceramic arts? I wanted to get a small kiln for fusing glass, but alas….ended up moving to Germany, and of course, I got into doing something else. I still do stained glass, though. At least glass doesn’t go to waste 🙂

Wait a minute….from the description above, I’m a minion!!!!

Grrrrr…..

3. Enas Yorl - March 30, 2010

Minions! I like the sound of that cbullitt!

Ceramics Aggie. Don’t know much about glass, but it sounds interesting too. There’s a guy at work who wants to get rid of a potter’s wheel and I’m mighty interested. It’s manual kick-wheel, but the price is good – free! And you can’t throw pots without something to fire them in so…a small kiln would be just the ticket.

Sorry about your minionhood, but we can’t all be Chiefs. Somebody’s got to do the grunt work. 😛

4. Nicole - March 31, 2010

Wait… Yorls have budgets? Well there goes that career choice…

We looked into a maid service about a year ago. It was reasonably priced, but I freaked out at the idea of having someone else clean my bathroom. So we didn’t do it. 🙂

5. Enas Yorl - April 1, 2010

Yeah, there is that part of it – some stranger going through your stuff. And you just know that you and your house will become fodder for The Stories That They Will Tell Others. I decided that I don’t care. As long as the place get cleaned I’ll be happy. Hell, I’ll probably do stuff just give them good stories! 😛

6. cbullitt - April 1, 2010
7. mel - April 15, 2010

Hiring people to do things for me is something I’ve also recently discovered. Just this week, in fact. I needed some ground tilled for my garden. I dreaded paying 40 bucks to rent a tiller then actually tilling the ground. I found someone to do it for me with their own tiller for 35 bucks. They did it today. It was great. My daughter saw the tilled ground looked shocked and said “Why do we ever do anything ourselves if we can pay people to do it????”

8. Enas Yorl - April 16, 2010

LOL Mel :-D. Your daughter is very wise.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

