jump to navigation

Why Can’t I Like Cheap Things? March 11, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Art.
trackback

I am going to get a pocket watch.  I have my heart set on it now and I want one so bad I can taste it (almost like strawberries if you’re curious).  I’ve looked at probably over a dozen sites and went through hundreds of watches on eBay, looking for That One that makes me go “Aha!”.  I almost said Aha! at one on eBay – a nearly 100-year-old antique silver one with an Art Nouveau design on the case for $450.  Gorgeous.  Alas, not a skeleton style so I passed.  If it was, then I’d probably be willing to give your first-born for it.  After looking at all this stuff I’d pretty much settled on one of the first ones I started looking at which was the Charles Hubert manufacture.  This one to be precise:

Beautiful! Skeleton. Silver. Reasonably affordable on various sites for about $400. Yeah, that’s more than the stuff I was looking at in the earlier post but I decided to upgrade from the $200 steel watches to real sterling silver ones. I like silver. Both the color and the metal. I mean, what are you gonna do if you’re ever attacked by a wolfman? If you have a steel watch you’re pretty much SOL. With a silver one you at least have a fighting chance. Um, but I digress…

Anyway. After looking for Charles Hubert watches specifically, I came across a site that has that exact watch for just about $300! Perversely, this actually made me want it less.  If I’m going to pay $400 for a watch, then by golly I want a $400 watch.  I don’t want a $300 one now.  So I started looking again.  The more expensive watches are inevitably Swiss ones.  I don’t know what it is about Swiss movement, but just the fact that they’re Swiss adds at least $300 to the price of a watch.  On eBay they sell just the old Swiss movements to be used for parts for $300. I’m sure there is a difference in the quality of these parts, it’s just that I’m not quite willing to cough up that much money just so I can say “Like my watch?  It’s Swiss.”  Well – that is, until I found this one:


As I said on McGoo’s place today: “It’s silver. It’s skeleton. It’s Swiss. And it’s Seriously on Sale.” It’s also $660. That’s a hefty chunk of change more than what I was looking to pay. But it’s on sale at 56% off! By Grabthar’s Hammer – what a savings! I am so sorely tempted. It’s my birthday coming up and hell, you only turn 40 once right?  Right?

I can hear myself now. “Like my watch? It’s real sterling silver. And it’s Swiss.”

Comments

1. Lemur King - March 11, 2010

Good grief, he’s totally going to Yorl that watch everybody! Stand back!

I’d Yorl that watch myself if I could afford to put it on my credit card. Cruel Wife would CW my ‘nads off. (See? Cruel Wife can be verb-ified, too.)

2. Steamboat McGoo - March 11, 2010

Enas – I’m glad you settled on one!

Um…did you look at the Elgins?

3. Enas Yorl - March 11, 2010

I’ve seen dozens of them McGoo. I don’t think I’ve seen any that was a skeleton version though. Did you notice one in particular somewhere?

4. LC Aggie Sith - March 11, 2010

Oooooh, this is a beauty, Enas. Actually both are.

Personally, I like anniversaries better, as in “Today I am celebrating the 11th anniversary of my 29th birthday.”

Has worked several times for me 😉

5. Steamboat McGoo - March 11, 2010

No – no skeleton Elgins that I know of. I stopped looking. They’re too expensive, anyway.

6. Enas Yorl - March 12, 2010

Well, I bought it last night.

HOLY SHIT! I bought a $660 watch!
I must be nuts…

7. Steamboat McGoo - March 12, 2010

Bravo!

Of course you will photo it when it arrives? It’s the Law.

8. Enas Yorl - March 12, 2010

Well, not so fast…

9. Rädda Sverige,nu! - March 18, 2010

[…] Why Can't I Like Cheap Things? […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

