jump to navigation

Pocket Watches March 3, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

I have the urge to spend money again.  I blame Nicole.

Every couple of years or so I buy a new watch because the battery died in my old one.  Yes, I know you can buy new batteries for these things, but 40-50 bucks can get me a spiffy new watch and it’s only every couple of years, so what the hey.  The last one I bought was Timex Expedition and while it still has plenty of battery juice the watch band is kinda shot.  A few weeks ago while digging around some of my junk around the house I came across a cheapo pocket watch (exactly like this one) that I’d bought a while back.  Its battery had died so I had stopped using it, but I thought it would look nicer than the increasingly ratty looking Timex if I could get it up and running easily.  It turned out to be pretty easy to get open and I did actually find a replacement battery for it last weekend so I’ve been carrying it around instead of strapping on the digital one.  While it’s great for what it is, I can’t help but think that I really ought to have something nicer and, hopefully, not made in china.  So I’ve been Binging around to see what’s out there and came across this nifty little number:

Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day...

 At $174 it’s definitely affordable and I’ve always liked the look of skeleton mechanical watches.  The movement of all those little gears and whatnots look really cool and steampunkitariany.  Of course, once I start looking at these things I can’t help but notice some of the nicer one$ and think “well, I do have a birthday coming up.”

Comments

1. Steamboat McGoo - March 3, 2010

What? Are you my twin doppelspender or sumpin, Enas? Why do you dangle these so-neat thingys in front of me?

Yeah – and I, too, have a b-day coming up! And I stopped wearing a watch back in 1998 but have secretly missed having a timepiece on me ever since.

How many Jools is it? Or are they those new-fangled Titanium knob & teflon bearings!?

2. Enas Yorl - March 3, 2010

I guess we resonate to similar spending frequencies McGoo!

Sounds like you need to get a pocket watch then. Birthdays practially demand pocket watches.

The website says this particular watch has 17 jools. I don’t think you’re allowed to use Ti knobs an teflon bearings on mechanical watches. Messes up the gears.

3. Steamboat McGoo - March 3, 2010

Oh, no.

Um…how do you think a pocket watch and fob are gonna look with my standard summer wardrobe; sweat-shorts and tee-shirt? Where will I fasten the fob?

Fob…

I just looked it up – not being sure I was using it correctly. Now I’m even less sure:

* a vest pocket to hold a pocket watch
* an adornment that hangs from a watch chain
* flim-flam: deceive somebody; “We tricked the teacher into thinking that class would be cancelled next week”
* short chain or ribbon attaching a pocket watch to a man’s vest

So – ignoring the flim-flam part – its either the chain itself, something hanging from the chain, or the pocket where the watch (and part of the chain) goes.

Sheeiit. Damned language.

You know why the language is so screwed up? Ya really want to know????

Just look at who’s been in charge of it all these years! English majors!!!!

4. Nicole - March 3, 2010

Bwahahah. I’ll take the blame for cool spending sprees, sure!

5. LC Aggie Sith - March 3, 2010

Oooooh, man-blingy!!!

Steampunkitariany….love the term. I’ve always loved pocket watches….I’m going through junk places and flea markets for them to use in my so-called art. The price is pretty good for a timepiece, too….unless you are getting some kind of fancy watch that does everything. That can get expensive…..

So just to be clear here…. I get the frog on the wall, right? In case you find something else to buy in its place.

😀

6. Steamboat McGoo - March 3, 2010

Hey, Enas. The one over to the right of the one you posted has day/night dial and two time zones – for only $22 more ($199 on sale!).

I saw some steampunk watches somewhere…..they were really mechanical monstrosities, though. Size of an old cellphone and weighing pounds, I think.

What I want is a wrist watch using miniature Nixie displays. Now that would be cool….

7. Enas Yorl - March 4, 2010

I’m not sure how you’re gonna coordinate a pocket watch with your summer wardrobe McGoo, but you’re a resourceful fellow. I’m sure you’ll think of something. I always thought the fob was the pocket watch attacher thing too. The one I have now has a little belt clipper jobbie.

$pensive – yah they sure can be Aggie. Particularly the gold stuff. Those prices are ridiculous right now. I am a bit more partial to silver anyway. Wall frog – yes it’s yours if I find something to put in it’s place and I have absolutely nowhere else to put it. Although I wouldn’t hold your breath on that. 😉

Good eye on spotting that other one McGoo. I think I like it a bit better – particularly with the silver tone materials.

8. LC Aggie Sith - March 4, 2010

Dude, if I were you, I would attach it to the CEILING before letting it go 😉

9. Enas Yorl - March 4, 2010

Yah, well I have LOTS of wall space so it’s not going anywhere real soon.

Thanks Nicole! I knew you would be a team player! 😀

10. Nicole - March 4, 2010

Remember, there is no “credit limit” in “team.”

11. Lemur King - March 5, 2010

You KNOW that I now covet your watch in a lustful way. Killin’ me here.

You just cannot blame Nicole now. Who next, Enas? You’ve already blamed me for the “Lord, it’s a Ring” episode. Now “Watch Me Buy this Timepiece”. Next you’ll be blaming that poor little girl, Aggie, for a diamond-and-whaleskin covered water bottle or something.

When will the madness stop?

12. Steamboat McGoo - March 5, 2010

Where is this diamond-and-whaleskin covered water bottle! And – does it come with a bifocal landing pramis?

13. Steamboat McGoo - March 5, 2010

Daver, over at Ruining The Internet, has an interesting clock.

http://www.ruiningtheinternet.com/2010/03/oblique-clock.html

Kinda pricey, though. I think I could build one for about $20.

14. LC Aggie Sith - March 5, 2010

Next you’ll be blaming that poor little girl, Aggie, for a diamond-and-whaleskin covered water bottle or something.

Oh, hell no…I don’t care for diamonds, LK. And whaleskin is so rubbery. But I do think Enas should get this:

http://www.neimanmarcus.com/store/catalog/prod.jhtml?itemId=prod103770036&parentId=cat26490731&masterId=cat14070772&index=39&cmCat=cat000000cat000553cat14070772cat26490731

A perfect perch for his pocket watch, no?

15. Enas Yorl - March 5, 2010

Lemur King, this is not madness – THIS IS SPARTA!!
Oh wait no, it’s not. Madness or Sparta, I have no intention of stopping any time soon.

I do want this though: My Pet Fat. The blame lies squarely on McGoo for that one.

Nice one Aggie! All my horizontal display space is kinda cluttered as it is though. Obviously I need to get rid of stuff so I can buy more stuff. 😉

16. LC Aggie Sith - March 5, 2010

Oh, ICK….

17. Steamboat McGoo - March 5, 2010

Say! That’s a nice lump ‘o chubby there, Enas. Reminds of my youth – and the lb. I left behind when I went off to the wars…

Or was that a dream?

Heh. “Horizontal display space” reminds me of an aunt who has one of those spotless and unbelievably cluttered homes.

I once commented to my sister that “there is not a single horizontal surface in that home that was not rendered useless by the sheer number of knickknacks arranged on it.” Later, she confirmed it. You literally could not set down a single paperback book – or even a glass of tea – ANYWHERE, because all available H-space is taken.”

18. Enas Yorl - March 5, 2010

Progress is slow lately on the weight-loss project so I was thinking that Mr. O’Globule might help motivate things McGoo. Plus, it’s just kinda cool.

I know how it is with your aunt. I’m a terrible pack-rat with an inordinate fondness for knickknackery myself. It’s not quite that bad around here, but sometimes it seems it is. Grrr. And here I am thinking about buying vinyl fat-glob to add to it. Lord, I need help.

19. Steamboat McGoo - March 6, 2010

Yeah, but just think: it’ll be the only fat-glob on the block! You’ll have that going for you at parties! Woot!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

