jump to navigation

I Can Totally Be This Guy February 23, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Strange & Unusual.
trackback

I may not have to die alone after all…

Via the Ghost of a Flea is a link to a story in the Daily Mail a few days ago:  the perfect man is a geek with facial stubble.
Lead quote:  “Most women claim to be attracted to tall, dark and handsome men, but a new study has revealed that facial stubble and a geeky personality are their biggest secret turn-ons.”

Geeky personality?  Um, okay.  Really?  Tell me more. 

“Despite complaining that it looks unkempt and feels rough to touch, the unshaven look on a man is actually a turn-on for 41 per cent of women.”

 I generally don’t shave during the weekends and holidays.  Is that unshaved enough?  What else?  Define “geeky” please.

“A slightly geeky personality came second, proving that women really do like a guy who knows their stuff when it comes to technology.”

I sit in front of a computer all day designing databases, doing data analyses and all kinds of techy crap.  Is that geeky enough?  I’m betting that it is.  Also, does an interest in knitting and crochet count towards geek cred?  I can package that as an interest in topology if necessary.

“A hairy chest was voted third, followed by a man who loves to read or cries at a soppy film.”

Ok, I’ve got hair on my chest.  I’m not sasquatch-like with the hair, but it’s definitely there.  Love reading?  Oh, yeah.  Let me show you my stacks of books ladies.  Crying at soppy films – well no, not so much but I can totally be there for you with the comforting shoulder if’n you want to do that.  I’m a giver like that.

Anything else?

“Other secret turn-ons to feature in the top ten include grey hair, glasses and being a passionate supporter of a sports team.”

Score!  I’m getting grey hair now and I’ve worn glasses most of my life!  I don’t really pay any attention to sports anymore, but I can totally fake passionate support for a team as long as it doesn’t involve baseball in any way.  I am willing to make that sacrifice.  For you. 

Hot diggity!  According to that article I’m damn near the complete package attraction-wise for women these days.  Come on ladies, check this out – you know you want it:

I can haz hot babe?

Funny, none of that stuff seemed to matter when I was in high school that’s for damn sure.

Comments

1. LC Aggie Sith - February 23, 2010

I can attest to the veracity of this poll, Enas. Hubby falls neatly into almost all categories 😀

Except the crying bit. Women may say they want a sensitive man, but that’s all bullshit. The closest Hubby ever came to watching a “chick flick” was The Princess Bride, and I had to bribe him to watch Gone With the Wind.

Another guy that fits above is Chris Muir….just sayin’ 😉

2. Lemur King - February 23, 2010

Oh yeah, I had to just beat ’em off with a stick.

Of course it would have helped if my field had more than 1 gal per every 20 guys.

The only time it is permissible to cry is when… well, gosh, there aren’t any permissible times once you’re older than say, 12. It’s in the man’s rule book.

Well, you can cry if you are forced to watch Sleepless in Seattle but not during.

3. LC Aggie Sith - February 23, 2010

Well, you can cry if you are forced to watch Sleepless in Seattle but not during.

Ick…tell me that didn’t happen to you, LK. To this day I’ve never seen it 🙂

4. Lemur King - February 23, 2010

About the only thing I could stomach that could remotely be called a “chick flick” would be LA Story, but it had the words “enema”, “erect”, and “gun” in it, so it’s really something guys can get a grip on easier than this emotional barrage in so many other films.

In fact, LA Story was a hoot. Without Steve Martin it’d have been lame. Groundhog Day *might* be included but it had the phrase “sounds like a chipmunk when she gets *really* excited”, which moves it into the “safe” category.

Women also like a guy that can still win at darts after two pitchers, too, Enas. Worked for me. 🙂

5. LC Aggie Sith - February 23, 2010

Well, LA Story was written by Martin as a gift to his wife-at-the-time, Victoria Tennant, so it had romance. But I do agree it’s safe out of chick flick territory. I never thought of Groundhog Day as a chick flick, really.

And truly, a man who can still win at darts after consuming large quantities of beer is a Godsend.

6. Enas Yorl - February 23, 2010

Well this isn’t encouraging. I suck at darts and I don’t drink beer anymore. I guess I will probably die alone after all. 😦

7. LC Aggie Sith - February 23, 2010

Enas, EVERY WOMAN appreciates a designated driver, too!!!

And if not darts, then try Strip Twister 😉

8. Nicole - February 24, 2010

I can second LC’s input. I saw this the other day and told The One Armed Man he’d better keep it in his pants now that he was an object of desire. 😛 He doesn’t cry, but he does have that last bit the article mentioned – having a bit of extra poundage on him. LOL

9. Lemur King - February 24, 2010

Enas, I did absolutely nothing that I can think of. I was just lucky.

Truth be told, I suck at darts and pitchers of beer never improved things except in my own mind. The skill that must have sold her was the ability to chug a pitcher in one go.

No. That wasn’t it, either. Hang on, I’ll think of the reason why Cruel Wife hung out with me… gimme a minute…

No. I got nothin’. Wimmen. Who can figure ’em out?

Groundhog Day was only a chick-flick in the over-arching sense that ultimately Phil was only able to get out of the nightmare by being the genuine article with the object of his desire, Rita. Makes you wonder how many trips through it took him to learn all those things.

10. LC Aggie Sith - February 24, 2010

Just remember that, when looking for Miss Right, you make sure her first name isn’t “Always”.

😀

11. Enas Yorl - February 24, 2010

Hm. So stubble and geekery isn’t enough – I need luck too. Dang. It’s gonna be a long, lonely road.

Whelp. It’s bedtime for me y’all. I guess I’ll sleep on this. Goodnight! And thanks for the visits & advice!

12. Lemur King - February 24, 2010

Stubble and geekery will do, Donkey, they’ll do…

13. Lipstick - February 27, 2010

Stubble is good for the lookin at but not good for the kissin.

And if you’re sitting with a girl, crying while watching “Beaches”, that automatically moves you into the dreaded “friend” category.

Enas Yorl - March 1, 2010

Ok, so stubble for the first impressions, but shave for dates. Taking notes here…

Just for the record though, screaming in horror and agony isn’t the same as crying.

– Me, watching “Beaches”

14. Lemur King - March 1, 2010

Very good point, Enas.

Do you now vomit when you see sand or are asked to “bond” with someone?

I avoided Beaches as if it were a cross between leprosy and ebola.

15. LC Aggie Sith - March 1, 2010

I never did watch it…. I had the feeling it would be like injecting one full of saccharin.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

