jump to navigation

Dante’s Inferno February 22, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Strange & Unusual.
trackback

During my illness this weekeng I’ve taken advantage of the license it gives to sit around and do nothing productive and not feel guilty about it.  Being sick is never fun, but this is perhaps the one legitate perk that it has.  So, I’ve been playing a video game that I picked up recently.  As the title of this post indicates it is the newly released Dante’s Inferno. I saw the trailer during the Super Bowl and said “Yeah, I gotta get that one.” Check it out:

At first I didn’t think I was going to like it too much, as I’ve never been really good at doing the complicated combination fastbuttonmash tricks these games demand today. When I was a kid we had one button and one stick and that was it; definitely poor training for the vastly more complex controls today. Anyway, now that I’ve played it a while on the easiest setting I have to say it really is a quite a lot of fun. One of the things I like about it is that it’s not all fastbuttonmash until everything dies, it has some nice logic puzzels too where you can take your time and figure them out. And it goes without saying that the graphics are absolutely stunning. This vision of Hell is truly beyond nightmarish. Really amazing stuff.

Oh, and this game DEFINITELY isn’t for the kids. It earns the hell out of that “M” rating. HOLY COW.

Comments

1. Lemur King - February 22, 2010

Wow. You see some of that and go “Geez, that is really really wrong.”

I felt that way about Clive Barker’s Undying. Some of it was just wrong.

2. LC Aggie Sith - February 22, 2010

I only get a balck area where the pic should be, but if it’s “M”, I’ll pass 🙂

3. Enas Yorl - February 22, 2010

Hm. It’s just a You-tube video Aggie. Your browser might have those disabled or something. But yah, definitely “M”.

“…really, really wrong.” That trailer doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface of wrongness in this game LK.

4. LC Aggie Sith - February 22, 2010

I see it now! Wasn’t this one of the commercials banned from the Super Bowl until they changed the last bit?

5. Enas Yorl - February 23, 2010

“last bit” = “Go To Hell”? I dunno Aggie, but it wouldn’t surprise me if EA was told to leave that off.

6. LC Aggie Sith - February 23, 2010

yep, that be the one 😀

7. Nicole - February 23, 2010

Yeah, I can’t see the vid either due to being at work, but since Diablo was enough to make me uneasy playing it after awhile, I think this one can be skipped. I’m not against games like that for adults, there are just things that make me personally squeamish.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

