jump to navigation

ART 101 – Week 3 February 18, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Home.
trackback

Last week we were finally able to expand beyond just the basic lines and start using the some of graphite’s other traits so beloved by artists: range of values and erasability!

Behold! FORMS!!

I Can Haz Shading?

Here the assignment was to de-emphasize the contour lines and just define the forms with value (aka shading). I did that pretty well here, actually. Notice that there are no hard, black outlines for any of the shapes. But I was still able to incorporate line texture in defining the surfaces of the forms, most notably in the cones and cylinder.

One of the interesting things about this class is that we are working on largish paper sizes – 18″ x 24″. And we’re working with our boards set vertically. The vast majority of my work until now has been on small pieces laying mostly flat. Both of these changes have really made me rethink and adjust my typical drawing methods. In many ways I’m starting out as a “beginning” drawer too!

One of the big adjustments is that I have to use my whole arm in the drawing process, rather than just moving my wrist and fingers. That actually makes a pretty big difference right there. It has its pluses and minuses – it’s easier to make more expressive lines this way for one thing, on the downside though is that it’s easier to make more expressive lines! šŸ˜€ In other words, it’s a bit harder to control.

One of the changes I made for this drawing was a more deliberate break from the way I usually did things was in the way that I held the pencil. Instead of the usual way we all hold our pencils for writing I forced myself to hold it more like a knife. This tends to make you use the edge of the lead instead of the point. This also tends to make for more expressive lines since you have to use more of the hand instead of the finer motor control in your fingers.

Comments

1. LC Aggie Sith - February 18, 2010

You can haz, Enas! Me likey!

2. Enas Yorl - February 19, 2010

Thanks Aggie! You seem to be alone in that regard though. Tough crowd today…

3. LC Aggie Sith - February 19, 2010

They are still doing the word thing over at McGoo’s, and trying to come up with a name for his ring, Enas.

What did you name your ring? Or did you??

4. Steamboat McGoo - February 19, 2010

You know, now that you describe it – the holding of the pencil, etc – that IS the way I’ve seen artists hold stuff.

Sounds to me like some kind of “basic” thing you really need to work on, Enas. Not ’cause you might have been doing it differently, but because if it wasn’t important, the instructor wouldn’t be wasting your time making you all do it! Like holding your wrists straight when playing piano. Or “skiing proud” when slaloming to maintain proper water-ski posture.

O’course, I could be full of shit, too.

But I like the shading. Adds a lot over simple outline.

Now sketch a dodecahedron! šŸ™‚

5. Enas Yorl - February 19, 2010

O that’s right – ring names. I haven’t come up with one as yet. I’ll have to think of something suitably Tolkeinish.

The new pencil hold was something I read in the ridiculously expensive suggested text for this class McGoo. I had my doubts about it, but gave it the ol’ college try. I have to say it worked pretty well.

6. Steamboat McGoo - February 19, 2010

“Ridiculously expensive” describes the overwhelming majority of college texts, Enas – IMHO, of course! šŸ™‚ Especially considering the usual content….

But, “Wax on, wax off.” There’s a lesson there.

Naming a ring is important – second only to naming a son, or maybe a cat.

I thought of a great one last night during the endless toss & turn session – but I forgot it. It had something to do with sweat, I think.

Or maybe podiatry.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

