jump to navigation

88 Pounds! February 1, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

I mentioned this in a comment on another thread, but I’ve been meaning to put this in it’s own post because this is a pretty major milestone. As of this weekend I’ve lost a total of 88 pounds since I started on my diet & exercise program last summer. That means I’m exactly halfway to my final goal of losing 176 pounds. At that time I will have obtained my ideal weight according to the Body Mass Index*. I’ve come pretty far in the seven months or so since I started this journey and I still have a ways to go.  They say the first 88 pounds is the low-hanging fruit of weight loss** so I expect I’ll need to step up my regimen if I want to keep at this kind of pace. 

Alas, I’ve managed to lose my thumbdrive where I kept all my weekly weight recordings and whatnot so I don’t have a cool graph to go with this post.

*Yes, yes I know. The BMI isn’t perfect and it isn’t useful at all for athletes and other super-fit type people. I’m not aiming for super-fit and no one will ever mistake me for an athlete. I just want to be normal and healthy and for that the BMI gives me a useful, clearly definable goal.

**Well, ok – They don’t say that.  Nobody does except me.

Comments

1. Lemur King - February 1, 2010

Like, geez, total congratulations, dude.

I feel your pain on losing data, but you’re computer savvy enough to keep backups of your backups (schoolmarm shaking her finger reproachfully). Aw shucks, just giving you a hard time. I’ve actually put mine through the washer and dryer – duh. Amazingly the damn thing survived.

Just remember, it is always in the last place you look for it, so skip the first 90% of them and save the time for cardio. 🙂

So, did you get a Wii yet? I hear you can actually get a good sweat going with one of them…

2. Enas Yorl - February 1, 2010

Aw thanks buddy! And, no I don’t have a backup. That pisses me off to no end and there’s really no excuse for it. Oh well. It will turn up someday I guess.

No I don’t have a Wii. Frankly I’m getting kind of post-video games. I hardly ever play the xbox and I’ve honestly considered getting rid of it. Too much other stuff to do.

Time for bed! I’ll type some more stuff at y’all tomorrow.

3. Nicole - February 1, 2010

That is truly amazing, Enas. If you figure out how to bottle your success and put it in pill form, I’ll be the first to buy some from you. 🙂

4. LC Aggie Sith - February 1, 2010

Way to go, Enas!!! You are an inspiration to me!! I do need to do more exercise, and you have motivated me. Thanks!!

5. Lemur King - February 1, 2010

The wind ‘neath our wings, the funky sandals ‘neath our feets.

I’ve been trying to figure out a way to lose the weight w/o exercise and w/o dietary change – sort of like cheating.

Nope. I got nothin’.

6. Enas Yorl - February 1, 2010

Thanks y’all! Sorry, busy day today. Type at you later.

7. kevlarchick - February 4, 2010

Congrats you STUD!

8. オテモニャン - February 5, 2010
9. LC Aggie Sith - February 5, 2010

All I see are little squares in the previous post….thank goodness.

10. Enas Yorl - February 6, 2010

Thanks Kevlarchick!

Yah, cleanup on aisle 8. Looks like Korean characters Aggie.

11. geoff - February 8, 2010

Good stuff, Enas!

12. Steamboat McGoo - February 9, 2010

For …
A …..
really….
…um…
…good…
clock,,,no!…..
time…
call…

Congrats, Enas. I’m with LK – how does I lose weight without having to pay the least attention to diet or exercise, we wonders yes we wonders?

13. Enas Yorl - February 9, 2010

Thanks McGoo!

I have no idea how to lose weight without diet & exercise. If you find that magic pill you’ll let me know, right?

Man, I really need to put up something new.

14. LC Aggie Sith - February 9, 2010

Lemur Kind found a way to lose weight, Enas….

I’m still gagging.

http://lemurking.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/bodice-rippers-and-global-warming/

15. Steamboat McGoo - February 9, 2010

Don’t look, Enas! On that road lies madness!

16. Lemur King - February 9, 2010

Madness ain’t so bad once you embrace it. You grab it’s lip in your teeth, it grabs your lip in it’s teeth and you hang on.

Think I read that in a Stephen King book. Loved the imagery.

Just a peek, Enas.

17. LC Aggie Sith - February 9, 2010

“ITS”…not “I’TS”

Sheesh, LK….

18. Lemur King - February 9, 2010

“I’TS”…? What mistake did I make, Aggie, to annoy you so? I am distraught.

Wait. Nope. Not distraught. Just hungry.

No, really, I never typed an “I’TS” other than the first sentence.

19. Lemur King - February 9, 2010

Oh, unless you mean the madness is an inanimate thing as opposed to being considered an antropomorphic entity. In which case you mean “its” vs. “it’s”, correct?

20. LC Aggie Sith - February 9, 2010

Correct 🙂 You crack me up, LK!!

21. Lemur King - February 10, 2010

Oh but the madness… it is a living breathing thing – unstable yet soft and cuddly and it’s drool is a natural skin moisturizer.

Oh “Hi Enas!”

22. Enas Yorl - February 10, 2010

LOL! Don’t mind me guys – carry on!

23. Lemur King - February 10, 2010

Oh we’re carryin’ on…

24. LC Aggie Sith - February 10, 2010

ROFL!!!!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

