jump to navigation

Teapot Purchased January 11, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

In the post below Nicole made me keenly aware of the incompleteness of the Yorl household in terms of the amount of teapottery available, which was zero. Now, even though I’m an avid tea-drinker I had no problem with the situation as I simply brew my teas one cup at a time with my Teavana Easy Steeper and was up until very recently perfectly happy with it.

Suddenly, however, brewing tea in a little plastic cup and drinking out of pedestrian glass mugs was no longer as satisfying as it once was and the whole thing seemed to be a rather inelegant enterprise. Clearly the situation was intolerable, right? Right? Right. So I went down to the store Saturday to rectify the problem:

Now the issue of inadequate tea paraphernalia has been solved. The problem of the mysteriously vanishing bank balances still remains a vexing one though.

Related: Check out Nicole’s wish list of enticing tea treasures too.

Also related: Cherry Bark Tea Canisters. I really need to stop looking at this place, but at some point I will need to address the burning issue of all the ugly non-cherry bark tea canisters currently littering my kitchen counter-top.

Comments

1. Nicole - January 11, 2010

Those are gorgeous! Tea is about so much more than simple hydration. You can drink water for that. Tea is a ritual and should be treated with appropriate respect.

Damn you and your cherry bark tea cannisters. I think we’re gonna be no good for each other, Enas.

2. LC Aggie Sith - January 11, 2010

That’s beautiful, Enas….I own the red laquered chest that holds six small canisters, or rather Hubby does πŸ˜‰ I also have a cast iron Japanese teapot and some lovely antique Japanese teacups. And use them all the time, because what is the use of having nice things only to let them collect dust, right??

And just reading y’all makes me think of two addicts quibbling!!!

πŸ˜€

3. Enas Yorl - January 11, 2010

Nah, we’re great for each other Nicole! Not so good for each other’s bank accounts maybe. πŸ˜‰

…what is the use of having nice things only to let them collect dust, right??

Absoluetly Aggie! I reall enjoyed messing around with my pot & cups this weekend.

4. Nicole - January 11, 2010

Useful art. That’s one of my huge downfalls. Not that I don’t have a huge chunk of dust collecting just to look at art, but stuff I can use that looks great? I’m so pulling out a checkbook.

5. LC Aggie Sith - January 11, 2010

stuff I can use that looks great?

Amen, PREACH IT, SISTAH!!!!

πŸ˜€

6. LC Aggie Sith - January 11, 2010

Oh, and I congratulate you, Enas, on the use of bobeches….very classy!

7. Enas Yorl - January 12, 2010

You made me learn a new word Aggie! Bobeches – I just called them “candle-drip-catcher-thingies”. πŸ˜€

8. LC Aggie Sith - January 12, 2010

ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!

Glad I could be of assistance!!!

πŸ˜€

9. Chris muir - January 12, 2010

Very elegant service there, the blue looks glazed.

10. Enas Yorl - January 12, 2010

Whoa – a Chris Muir comment! Thanks for dropping by!

Actually this is a cast iron Japanese “tetsubin” teapot. The inside is enameled and the outside coloring is some sort of patina. That’s actually the one drawback on this thing – it can’t withstand any kind of scrubbing so I have to be careful when cleaning and drying it.

11. LC Aggie Sith - January 12, 2010

CHRIS MUIR?????

You lucky bastich, Enas!!!! πŸ™‚

12. Enas Yorl - January 12, 2010

I know! I’m so excited! My teapots are bringing all the boys to the yard…or something.

13. Nicole - January 12, 2010

“My teapots are bringing all the boys to the yard”

That right there is funny. πŸ™‚


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

