jump to navigation

This ‘n That January 7, 2010

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Knitting.
trackback

Another one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to lay off of some of the impulse buying and save more money.  Last year I started getting into the bad habit of floating purchases on the credit cards and just buying stuff that I really shouldn’t, or at least put off until I’ve saved enough for them.  I used to be really good about that and always payed off the entire balances every month.  I want to get back to doing that.  Yes, well.  Sometimes you gotta bend the rules, you know?

Currently I’m working on a new crochet project and it’s become apparent that my set of crochet hooks don’t fit my hand very well and the end is wearing a sore spot on my palm.  So just out of curiosity I started Binging around (google *spit!* is not allowed around here) and came across something wonderful:  handmade wooden crochet hooks.  Yes, that is a link there and you will go click on that now.  Seriously, YOU GO CLICK NOW!  Make sure you go through all the individual pages for all the various hook to see some really beautiful things.  They remind me of the wizard’s wands in the Harry Potter movies.  Unlike those things though you can actually do something with these!

So yes, I just ordered and paid for a set of the smaller ones F – J for a total cost of $90 with the shipping.  The guy who makes them e-mailed me this afternoon that they’ve been packed and shipped so I should get them in a couple days. 

That’s it for now, more later…

Ok, so it’s later.  Here’s something else cool for you to check out: Digital Blasphemy.  Of course I found this a couple days ago over at cmblake’s weblog (who’s screen name I will forever read as “clambake”).  You only get a taste from a few free samples available there as he keeps the vast majority of the stuff for the paying customers.  It’s a prescription type dealie, but at only$19.95 per year that’s more than very reasonable.  So I’m signing up for that tonight too.  Yes, I’m in direct violation of Resolution #3 up there again.  But, this is in support of Resolution #4:  Be more generous in my time and support of people I like and admire as well as the causes & stuff I care about.  Anyway, that site’s been around for quite some time and the guy makes his living doing it.  I’m amazed I’ve never been there before this week, but there ya go. 

I love messing around with computer wallpapers & whatnot so I’m really looking forward to having fun with his stuff.  OH!  And he does stuff for Windows Vista’s Dreamscape feature too.  That stuff looks REALLY cool on my HDTV. 😀

Comments

1. Lemur King - January 7, 2010

I can’t believe it. You made me click on that link. In spite of every shred of personality screaming against it, I clicked on that link.

You are…

The Asshole Whisperer.

2. LC Aggie Sith - January 7, 2010

Oh man…they have hairsticks!!! I loooooove hairsticks!! Something about twining my hair up, and slooooowly sliding the stick out to let the silken strands fall down my back…

In another life I bet I was a romance writer 😉

3. Lemur King - January 7, 2010

Damn, Ag.

I picked the wrong week to quit nicotine.

4. Enas Yorl - January 8, 2010

I have many mysterious talents LK!

Wow Aggie. That was…very hot. Your husband is a lucky man! 😉

5. Steamboat McGoo - January 8, 2010

Enas – I bet you’re responsible for this – you prankster!

6. Steamboat McGoo - January 8, 2010

LC’s definitely been preoccupied with…um…erotica.

Yay!

7. LC Aggie Sith - January 8, 2010

You know, at least I didn’t say:

“Something about twining my hair up, and slooooowly sliding the stick out, driving the deadly point through the ribcage into the dark heart of The Goron…”

Maybe I was into bad horror fiction 😉

8. Enas Yorl - January 8, 2010

Hee! Not guilty McGoo! But that is pretty cool. I saw another picture recently where someone(s) had done that rather extensively on a fairly largish tree. I think it’s called “knit graffiti”.

You let us be the judge about whether it’s “bad” or not Aggie! So…tell us more about this Goron then.

9. LC Aggie Sith - January 8, 2010

The Goron?? That’s my name for Al Gore, and his followers are Goronites 😀

10. Steamboat McGoo - January 8, 2010

Aw, goron with you!

(Yes – that’s a pun, and you may groan at your leisure)

LC – you should write up a bunch of erotico-sci-fi-horror purple prose and post it for us!

Enas – I saw another knitting photo – an entire family of mild pudgies – all dressed in exceedingly LOUD knitted Christmas sweaters. But I didn’t want to blind anyone. It was bad….

11. Steamboat McGoo - January 8, 2010

Enas – I have to say I really like that photo of you!

You look like you pulled a galactic-class prank on some deserving asshole, and it’s just been successfully sprung and worked even better than you could ever hope.

You look smugly and deservedly happy – like some 19-year old beauty is giving you a good polish down there below the edge of the photo.

Excellent shot.

12. LC Aggie Sith - January 8, 2010

“Erotico-sci-fi-horror purple prose??”

Hmmmm…..I shall consult with my boss 😉

13. Lemur King - January 8, 2010

Ok, so it’s not just me that thinks “clambake”. Whew. I thought I was defective or something when I finally figgered it out.

Yes, Aggie, erotico-sci-fi-horror! Erotico-sci-fi-horror!

And yes, Enas, that is a very cheerful picture. I’ll have whatever you’re having there.

14. Nicole - January 8, 2010

I can avoid buying crochet hooks for $90. I don’t crochet that regularly. Now, if you show me a site with a $90 hand carved exotic wood cutting board or serving platter and I’m sunk. Or a $90 teapot I don’t need.

The hooks are very nice, though. Money is nothing to feel bad about when one feels a need to be surrounded by nice, quality things. Especially when they are actually useful as well as visually appealing.

15. Enas Yorl - January 9, 2010

Thanks for the compliments on my picture! Y’all are too kind. Resolution #5 is to be a happier and more open person, so all smiles are 100% additive & mischief free! 😉 I need to get another one up since the Christmas season is over now.

The Goron – I’m totally adopting that! As for erotico-sci-fi-horror: yes please! I loved the movie Species which was a really good example of that I think.

Nicole, don’t have any cutting board links for you, but if teapots are your thang, then you might be interested in looking around at Teavana. We have one of these stores in town and I spend WAYYY too much money there.

The hooks are nice, and I like nice things. A few months ago I decided I wanted something nice to put my mouthwash in so I wouldn’t have to look at a plastic bottle anymore. I found two Waterford crystal decanters at Dillard’s so I got them both. I totally scored – they were on sale for $27 each down from $90 each. By Grabthar’s Hammer – what a savings!

16. Enas Yorl - January 9, 2010

Dang Nicole. You got me looking at Teavana stuff and now I want a teapot! Resolution #3 is gonna be a hard one to keep this year. :-O

17. Nicole - January 9, 2010

Teavana is awesome. Pretty expensive though. If you are into tea stuff, hit some of my tea links. 🙂 Ebay has been my downfall for teapots. And I have a massive weakness for pottery so craft fairs are doom on a stick.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

