jump to navigation

Happy Halloween! October 31, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

Just a quickie thing here for the one or two of you who still drop by from time to time. I’ve been meaning to drop a link to this for the longest time: Dracula – in blog form! This is really very cool and perfect for the season. The original novel from Bram Stoker (isn’t that an awesome name?) was written as series of journal entries and letters from some of the characters and here they are presented as entries posted on the same days as they are in the book.

Now you can read the original that inspired all the rest! Remember, Dracula was the original “old school” type vampire. Like James Lileks quipped about the movie Nosferatu “…from the days when vampires were stinky and ugly, not tragic lads from the goth version of the A&F catalog.”

Comments

1. Steamboat McGoo - November 6, 2009

Hell, Enas – I read this a week ago and expected someone to comment by now!

I’d read the Dracula serial, except that I never really cared for Stokers style and his misogynous – or at least demeaning – attitude towards women.

But – yeah – Bram’s dracula was no “Vampire Lestat”.

2. Enas Yorl - November 7, 2009

Yah, virtually nobody comes around here anymore. Maybe because I hardly ever post anything, I dunno. You’re always welcome though! Are you about to come back from hiatus or are you just going around and dropping pity comments to those who need them? ;-D

As for Stoker & wimmen – that was pretty much the style and attitude of the time. NOBODY was writing Buffy the Vampire Slayer type stuff in those days!

3. Steamboat McGoo - November 7, 2009

Naah – I’m still in non-blog mode. I don’t even surf that much anymore.

Didn’t meant to be pithy.

And you’re right about Stoker, the times he wrote in, and wimmin. I have just always found Stokers style (and Melville – that vast windbag) particularly irritating.

4. Lipstick - November 7, 2009

I still come here — hi Enas!

5. Enas Yorl - November 8, 2009

Howdy Lipstick! Thanks for the visits!

6. Lipstick - November 9, 2009

How’s the diabeetus stuff going Enas?

Mr. Lipstick has been eating clean too — instead of buying pizza rolls and ice cream, he has me buying egg whites and Silk and oatmeal! Never thought I’d see the day 🙂

7. Enas Yorl - November 10, 2009

Diabeetus is going well! I think. Actually it’s been ranging kinda low lately which is odd since I havn’t really changed anything. I finally got around to scheduling an appointment with the Dr. tomorrow so we’ll see what he has to say about it.

Glad to hear Mr. Lipstick is on the health train too! But…Silk – that’s soy milk right? I’ve been reading stuff about soy lately and none of it’s good actually, at least not in the way that almost all of us are consuming it lately. I’m going to start looking into getting raw milk / milk products myself. Eh, too much to get into here. I’ll put up a post about it tomorrow.

8. geoff - November 11, 2009

Mr. Lipstick has been eating clean too — instead of buying pizza rolls and ice cream, he has me buying egg whites and Silk and oatmeal!

Noooooooooo!!!!

Another comrade fallen.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

