jump to navigation

Quick Update September 9, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

Goodness the days do just slip on by don’t they?  It’s funny, all day long I think of things I want to tell y’all but as soon as I sit in front of the keyboard they all just sort of go “Eh.  Why bother?’  Still I do have some things I want to share real quick.

Diabeetus – Actually the ol’ blood sugar levels are getting rather boring.  They dropped right smack dab into the middle of the normal level almost two weeks ago and haven’t moved since.  And it’s not like I’m just measuring them at the same times either.  I’m “exploring the studio space” if you will and they just aren’t varying very much.  I think this is what one could call “well controlled”:

Blood Sugar Levels

Coming up this Friday I’m going to the first of three diabeetus education classes arranged by my HMO.  Yes!  Just a short six weeks after diagnosis!  Dunno what they can tell me that I haven’t already figured out but I guess we’ll see.  And yes, I am going to bring a copy of this graph with me. :0)

Weight loss – my “official” weighing days are once a week on Saturday mornings.  As of last Saturday I have lost 46.8 pounds since 6/22, which just happens to be exactly 26% of my weight loss goal.  Hooray!  I actually figure that the first 20 or so pounds I lost between late June and mid-July was mostly water that I was retaining due to my high-sodium diet and it got flushed out by the onset of the later symptoms of the diabeetus.  The last 24 or so was definitely all excess porkage though.  I’m starting to have the happy problem of not being able to wear some clothes because they are too big now.  Fortunately I’m a bit of a pack rat so I never throw stuff away and have clothes that I haven’t been able to wear since the Clinton administration.  Hell, I think I have some shirts that are even older than that!  It will be a while before I get into some of those but I’m well on the way.

That’s it for now, but tune in tomorrow because I have a knitting update!

Comments

1. Steamboat McGoo - September 9, 2009

Congratulations, Dood! You are kicking ass!

I am soooo effing jealous! Wish my blood sugar would control that well.

2. Lipstick - September 9, 2009

That’s wonderful! How are you feeling? (Aside from the delicious joy that comes from fitting into smaller clothes — yippee!)

3. fizex - September 9, 2009

thanks for giving info for me : )

4. geoff - September 9, 2009

Great news, Enas! And the weight loss is a nice silver lining in the metabolic cloud.

Now if you’d just make the rounds and comment more…

5. Enas Yorl - September 9, 2009

Oh, thanks y’all!

I’m feeling pretty good Lipstick. I should exercise more though. I can’t wait for it to cool off so I can do more stuff outside, like bike riding. The treadmill gets old you know?

Yes I should be more involved Geoff. I vow to doff the Lurker’s Cloak more often!

6. Lemur King - October 14, 2009

A little late but way to go, Enas!

And it is amazing how much better you feel when you didn’t even really catch on to how “not great” you were doing daily.

Keep reporting and I’ll try to do my part and show up more.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

