jump to navigation

Behold! August 28, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Home.
trackback

Here’s a picture of the blue jean* quilt I mentioned a couple posts ago:

Blue Jean Quilt

This is entirely made up of pieces of old denim jeans with various patches, pockets and belt loops added on.  The backing is a nice, snuggly soft flannel.  The overall size isn’t big enough to cover a queen bed but it’s still a generous 5 x 6 feet.  Denim is of course far too heavy to quilt in the traditional way so the top and backing is joined by tied yarn as you can see in the bottom left corner.  This is the sixth quilt my parents have made for me so far, and there’s another on the way.  It’s going to be really cool.

*Yes I know they’re not all “blue” jean pieces.  Don’t make a maniac out of me.

Comments

1. Lipstick - August 30, 2009

Ooo, nice lamp, too.

2. cbullitt - September 1, 2009

Nicely done, Enas. Wish I had the eye–and the patience–for such work.

3. Lemur King - October 14, 2009

Cruel Wife made me one years ago and backed it with flannel. It’s like twice as heavy as a tricked out cadillac and oh so warm on a cold winter night.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

