jump to navigation

I Haz a Quilt Rack August 13, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Home.
trackback

I just got this in last week and I’ve been meaning to put it up:

Quilt Rack

The Parental Units have made me enough quilts now so that I can load one of these up.  My latest aquisition is the blue jean quilt in the back.  I’ll put up another picture of that one later.  Anyway, I got it at QuiltRacks.com and it arrived in less than a week!  And shipping was only 7 bucks!!! 

Very cool!

Comments

1. geoff - August 18, 2009

Dang. My folks never make me any quilts. Those are really nice, and the rack is a great idea.

2. Steamboat McGoo - August 19, 2009

All my quilt-making relatives are in the dirt-nap mode, so I’ll never have more than the one fambly heirloom I have now. Hardy worth having a display rack – even a nice one like that, Enas – for just one quilt. Rats.

3. Enas Yorl - August 19, 2009

Aw, I’m sorry McGoo. Quilts are really nice things to have. Truly my cup runneth over as I have all these, plus another not pictured and another one on the way. I’ll probably need to get another quilt rack before long!

4. Steamboat McGoo - August 20, 2009

Those are quite nice, Enas!

Ever watch them make one?
They take a buttload of work to make.

5. Enas Yorl - August 20, 2009

Yes they are, and yes I have! Many, many hours go into making one of these. Well, some more than others of course. It’s a team effort – Dad usually measures and cuts the individual pieces and my Mom sews them together for the top and does the bottom as well. They then baste them together with the batting in between and the whole shebang goes into the quilt frame where my Dad actually does all the quilting. Oh, and he built his own quilt frame out of large guage PVC pipe. It can take several months just for the quilting for some of the more elaborate ones. It’s an amazing process.

6. Steamboat McGoo - August 20, 2009

Yep. I used to watch Mom and Grandma et al do it. They had a big-assed oak frame thingy with all sorts of wooden pins and posts and notches and stuff on it. And some bolts with wing-nuts, too! I don’t remember it having a polarized landing framis, but it probably did.

But, now that I think about it, I probably slept under a fambly-made quilt for most of my first 18 years of life.

Warm, they is……


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

