jump to navigation

Behold! July 10, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Knitting.
trackback
Four inches by four inches of knittery goodness.

Four inches by four inches of knittery goodness.

I have knitted a swatch!  And it’s bounded off and everything.  Yah, it’s not perfect, but it’s not bad either.  So a 4″ x 4″ with my #6 needles with this yarn is 20 stiches by 39 rows.  This is important to know when you’re actually making something.  I don’t know what to do with the dangly bits just yet – the books don’t say but I’m sure they will.  This here is an example of the “Garter Stich”.  It’s where you use only the knitting stich and no purls which is just a reverse knit stich.  Next up is the “Stocking Stich” wherein I shall attempt to alternate knit and purl rows.  Type at you later!

Comments

1. Lemur King - July 12, 2009

Welcome back Enas. We’re back, too. Glad your vacation was good. And you learned a new skill, too. Way more ambitious than ours was.

Today, swatches. Tomorrow baby-booties. Next week, take over the world!

2. Steamboat McGoo - July 13, 2009

Yer doin’ it, Man!

*Ahem* I do have to query your color choice. Is there something you want to tell us? 🙂

3. Enas Yorl - July 13, 2009

Well, it’s tough to find 100% cotton yarn McGoo and the color choice here was limited. In my defense this stuff is actually more raspberry than pink like the picuture looks.

I have a nice, variegated blue swatch I did this weekend that I’ll put up later that looks a bit better.

4. Gnus - July 13, 2009

100% cotton sheep are a dying breed.

And McGoo smells like fish.

5. Gnus - July 13, 2009

I forgot to ask earlier – could you see Sarah’s porch from the boat?

Enas Yorl - July 14, 2009

Actually, sorta yah. We docked at Juneau for a day and you can see pretty much the whole town from the ship and the Govenor’s Mansion is right in there. We didn’t go up and say “Howdy” though. We figured she was pretty busy.

6. Steamboat McGoo - July 17, 2009

Hey! Them is bass scents! Anybody can smell like mere fish. Harrumph!

I’m looking forward to the blue swatch, Enas. Cotton, or otherwise.

My Sis used to say the synthetics made her hands sweat. All-cotton for her, or sheep fur, apparently.

7. geoff - July 18, 2009

Mrs. geoff sez: “Stockinette stitches are far more enjoyable than just knitting. When you’re looking for your first project, try a dishcloth. They’re fast, they’re easy, useful, and make great gifts. Google “free washcloth patterns” and you can find a picture of pretty much any pattern you want to knit into the washcloth. Email geoff if you have any questions.”

8. Enas Yorl - July 18, 2009

Thanks Mrs. Geoff! I was going to do the traditional scarf as my first official project but a nice washcloth is a hell of a lot more useful than a scarf in Las Vegas. It’s supposed to be 112 – 113 degrees around here this weekend. :-O I Binged around and there are some neat projects out there. 🙂

Well, my sister lives in Snow Country so she would probably appreciate a nice scarf.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

