jump to navigation

Kitty Is Back in the Hospital May 24, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

She hasn’t pooped in about a week.  When I called into the vet’s office about it I was basically told that she wasn’t really eating all that much and it probably hadn’t built up enough for a poop.  I was told to feel her belly for any solid stuff and if I didn’t feel anything then she was probably OK.  I felt around but it all felt squishy to me and let it go for a couple more days.  Then I came to my senses and realized that I don’t know nuthin’ about squeezin’ no cats and took her back to the original place I’d been going (the other place is closed on Sundays).  The other vet at this place felt around and thought we really ought to get some x-rays to see what we were dealing with.  Oooohhh yeah.  That cat was backed up worse than the I-15 freeway* on a holiday weekend with a four-car pile-up in the center lane.  No wonder she hasn’t been feeling or feeding very well lately.  They’re keeping her there overnight for enema fun and whatnot.  Hopefully when she gets back tomorrow she will be more like her normal self and eating again.  Can I dare to hope?

*The I-15 is the highway that connects Las Vegas to SoCal and regions to the north.  It’s basically the two-way alimentary canal of the city.  You know your analogies are bad when you need footnotes to explain them.  At least it was better than my previous “Her colon was packed tighter than a very tightly packed…packing thing.”

***Update***

Now there’s something else wrong with her.  They found more fluid in her abdomen which means more tests and more money.  I’ve authorized another blood test and analysis on the fluid to see where it might be coming from or what’s causing it.  One possibility is cancer, another is a virus that they previously tested for and came back negative.  It seems that even negative results do not actually rule it out.  Or it may be something else entirely.  At this point there doesn’t seem to be many ways out for Isabelle.

***Update 2***

Some results are back on the blood test.  She’s anemic and has very high calcium levels (upper end of normal is 11.5 and she is at 15).  She’s been anemic for a while so that didn’t surprise me.  The other result is the worse of the two:  “When we see this we start thinking of cancer.”

Comments

1. Lemur King - May 26, 2009

Hadn’t caught up with the news – geez.

Give Izzy a scritch for me. Poor kitty.

Take care of yourself, too.

2. Enas Yorl - May 27, 2009

Thanks LK.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

