jump to navigation

We’re Gonna Fight It May 18, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Food, Home, Science & Technology.
Tags: ,
trackback

Isabelle has her good days and her bad days.  I guess I tend to write these updates on bad days when the the Blue Bird of Optimism gets its butt kicked by the Black Bired of Despair.  Today the Blue Bird decided it was time for smash-beak payback.

Last night she did better with the hand feeding than she has in a while.  I ran out of the food the vet gave me last week and started her on some different Fancy Feast stuff mixed with water.  Maybe that’s been one of the problems:  too much of the same thing all the time.  I’m going to have several flavors mixed up so she gets a lot more variety than she has been getting.  I also figured out a different way to approach her with the syringe so I’m not doing from the same side of her mouth all the time.  I wouldn’t be at all surprised if she was just sore over there.  Gentler feedings = less stress = less barfings hopefully.

I did finally speak with the vet last night at 7:30.  Her office is actually closed on Sundays but I don’t think she actually takes many days off.  The new medicine is in and it did have to be made special for the dosages but it’s not terribly expensive at $24 per bottle.  I dunno how many doses per bottle but I figure at least 20 so that’s not bad.  The vet is also arranging that I get it at cost so it’s even less than what it could be.  I asked her how long it would be before we saw results and she said it would probably be a couple weeks, but she’s seen cases that turned around faster than that.  I’ll pick it up tomorrow.

Isabelle isn’t in any obvious pain, and occasionally she displays flashes of her old self when she jumps up on the bed or couch to join me for a little while.  I don’t think she’s ready to “go gentle into that good night” just yet and I intend to give her the best opportunity that I can.  I’ll see if I can get some lunchtime flexibility to come home during the afternoon for an extra feeding.  I think I probably can and it would probably help a long way.  Also my night class is over for a bit and that will help too.

By Grapthar’s Hammer we’re gonna beat this thing.

Comments

1. Steamboat McGoo - May 18, 2009

Yay! Hope springs eternal!

I gots my fingers and toes crossed, Enas.

2. Lemur King - May 18, 2009

I’m sorry, I read the toenail post and didn’t see until after my comment that you double-blogged it today.

Well here’s to hoping the little gal mends. Remember to preserve good hygiene twixt your toe and your feline. No need to go swappin’ infections, eh?

But you knew that.

Give ‘er a scritch for me.

3. S. Weasel - May 19, 2009

Wait! Have we seen a picture of Isabelle? I find it very difficult to beam healing vibes at a pussoe without a visual.

I’m very visual, you know.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

