jump to navigation

Enas Yorl HealthWatch ’09 May 4, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

Now there’s something wrong with me.  😦  I’m pretty sure I have an infection in my left big toe and I need to get to a doctor tomorrow.  Unfortunately I’m not entirely sure who my Primary Care Physician is anymore and where he or she is located. 

This has not been a very good couple of weeks for the members of the House of Yorl.

Sorry Big Bang Theory was coming on and I cut this short.  A couple months ago I stubbed the shit out of my left toe and cracked the nail way down deep on one side.  I thought for a while I was going to lose the whole nail, but no.  Eventually the cracked part tore off and the rest of the nail was growing fine.  So one side is exposed and sensitive and the other is ok.  Flash forward to a few days ago and I notice that the sensitive side seems a bit more sensitive.  “Well it’s just growing in.  No big deal.”  Flash to this morning.  Not sensitive anymore.  It hurts.  It looks to be a bit red and swollen around the nail edge.  I figure it’s getting in-grown and I’ll have to cut some nail out this evening but this morning I have to deal with the cat.  Tonight the corner of my toe is turning white, I can see discoloration under the nail and there’s sticky stuff that I’m guessing has come from the discolored zone underneath the nail.  And it hurts. 

I think I have the PCP situation figured out though.  I got letters from the HMO and the physician group a while back.  The one from the HMO said that my former dude who took over from my former gal moved away and they gave me another dude.  The one from my physician group said a bunch of them moved to another location nearer to me.  My dude wasn’t one of them apparently although from the letter it sounded like he did.

By hook or by crook I’ll get someone to look at this tomorrow for sure.

Comments

1. Lemur King - May 5, 2009

Geez, dude. You and Kitty sharing bacteria? I say that only half-joking. Stranger things have happened (pigs and birds to people)

Good luck. Hope it’s something really simple like “Oh, Mr. Yorl, I think I know what the problem is… you seem to have a 9″ rusty nail going clean through your big toe. Does it hurt?”

And then you say something like “Gawrsh, I guess that *could* be it, couldn’t it? Wahl fancy that. I wunnerd ’bout the stabbing pain whenever I put on my shoe.”

And then you could all go get a beer – you, the doc, and the kitty. I think when you’re sick that beer calories are just as good as chicken soup calories or lasagna calories.

And as long as we’re at it, the doc should be athletic, love WoW, be single, and love art and food. Of course if you’re married that would cause… problems.

I’m going to shut up now, dude.

2. cbullitt - May 5, 2009

Enas, I feel for ya. Work just switched our health insurance again–so I have no fucking idea who my primary is either. I have to do that search the directory crap all over again. Damned croakers–can’t make anything simple.

3. Steamboat McGoo - May 5, 2009

Enas – first the kitty, now your toe! I’m sorry for you!

Don’t let an ingrown toenail go too long, dude. If the doc has to cut a lot, you’ll limp for a week after. It hurts a lot.

4. Enas Yorl - May 5, 2009

Yah, unfortunately the earliest I can get an appointment is for tomorrow morning. I dosed the toe with an antiseptic spray last night and it seemed to help. Also as it turns out my Dr. is another dude entirely from the ones mentioned in the letters. When I made the appointment the lady on the phone gave me a different name and when I asked about the other two she said “No, those aren’t our doctors.”

Oooohkaaaayy…

5. Lemur King - May 5, 2009

What are the odds on amputation of your big toe to solve the ingrown toenail issue?

No seriously, hope you’re doing better. Hobbling around in pain is no joke.

6. EnasYorl - May 5, 2009

Hopefully slim to none on the toe cutting LK! I actually feel better today than I did yesterday surprisingly. I’m guessing it’s either the antiseptic spray that’s helping out or nerve damage rendering the area numb.

HA HA! I’m kidding about that last part. I hope.

7. Lemur King - May 6, 2009

Let’s hope it was nerve damage – it makes a cool story and you get sympathy points from the chicks. If it leaves a cool scar you can talk about how you dodged every bullet but the last one – the terrified bad guy shooting wildly to stop you – just before you broke his neck.

Tough story to sell, but fun.

I really must keep them from changing my medications again. 🙂

8. EnasYorl - May 6, 2009

I really must keep them from changing my medications again.

Ummmm yeah! 😉

The toe feels better but it sure as hell doesn’t look better. 😦 It’s actually probably a good thing this happened. I’ve been needing to schedule an appointment for some other stuff anyway. My Mom has a genetic thing that popped up recently and it’s recommended that all her blood-relatives get checked for it too. And I’m now at the age to start getting checked for other things as well.

9. Lemur King - May 6, 2009

The joke came about from a college prof who pulled me and my buddy away after class one day.

He asked if we knew “Jeremy” (not his real name) and we said yeah. He then asked if he’d been acting strangely and we said no more than usual.

Well this prof said he’d worked at a mental hospital in the summers for several years and the sort of behavior he was seeing was similar to when they changed a patient’s meds and they hadn’t stabilized yet.

The guy was overheard saying after he got a bad test score from the prof: “Die. Kill. Die. Kill.”

It was kind of scary but kind of funny in a “Breaking Bad” dark-humor kind of way. Surreal enough to put everything on a tilt.

Good luck with the extra tests.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

