jump to navigation

Holy Crap!! March 25, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

The tech guys couldn’t find anything wrong with my computer so I took it home to get screen shots of the BSODs when they happen there.  Monday night there was no problem, but last night I got two of them while WoWing.  They obligingly stayed on screen long enough for me to get pictures of them and I called the store to report them.  The first error code didn’t tell them much but the second one was about an attempted hack.  (????!!!!!)  Then this afternoon an article about a new worm that’s been discovered hit my work e-mail.  It seems that this one targets home routers & DSL/cable modems and my new cable modem is one of them.  Gentle Readers – meet psybOt aka Bluepill.  It looks likely that I got a rude introduction myself last night.

We need to seriously ramp up the punishments for computer crimes.  Fuckers who come up with this crap need to pay severely.

Comments

1. Lemur King - March 25, 2009

Said punishment should involve slaps on the wrist while getting wedgies while listening to nonstop Barry Manilow while being devoured by voracious fire ants.

With budget cutbacks lets just use fire ants. No sense in extra costly cruelty.

It used to be you stole a man’s horse you were hung (in some locations) because it was your livelihood. Same thing oughta apply here. “You mess with a guy’s computer, it’s the ants for you” Or as dad used to say: Give ’em a fair trial and hang ’em.

Sorry you got the compu-clap, dude.

2. EnasYorl - March 25, 2009

I don’t know if I’m actually infected with the thing or not LK. The crash message said that there was an attempt to hack. I just ran a scan and it came up empty. Of course I just did a check on McAffee’s site and they don’t know about Bluepill or psyb0t so it’s probably not looking for it.anyway 😦

Fire ants would be real good.

3. Lemur King - March 25, 2009

I’ll still prescribe fire ants on general principle.

Where’s that dam prescription pad?

4. Steamboat McGoo - March 26, 2009

I’d rather the little script-kiddie hacker twerps get sent up to prison. Put him in a cell with Hacker Harry and his 11-inch Data-Stick!, and he can learn the true meaning of being Hacked!

I hate malicious hackers.

5. Lemur King - March 26, 2009

‘Goo, for a prison cell-mate I’m thinking of a Big Ugly Guy, Super-Sweaty (BUGSS) named Bubba who cries himself to sleep every night and misses his real teddy bear but is willing to “make do” with said script-kiddie.

I don’t see that Bubba and data-stick are mutually exclusive. Had to add that nightmarish visual though.

6. EnasYorl - March 26, 2009

I’m on the Blue Screen of Death March guys. I keep firing up WoW and it keeps shutting me down. I’ve got four new screen shots of the BSOD and only one is a repeat from before I think – the hack warning.

I will not be deterred though! I WILL get a stable, WoW-running thinking machine! How the hell else am I going to ignore the destruction of western civilization at the hands of the idiot boobs in charge now?

7. Lemur King - March 26, 2009

Have you considered going back a few steps to Babbage’s Difference Engine and installing WoW on that?

Of course he probably suffered from infectious code, too, in the form of cockroach shells when they got into the works. Blech. Roach guts.

Good luck w/ that, Enas. BSOD is like jock itch. Irritating and sometimes takes a while to go away.

8. Steamboat McGoo - March 26, 2009

Wish I could help, Enas. But all I’ll do is confuse the issue.

9. Steamboat McGoo - March 27, 2009

Go, Enas!

Atta boy, Enas!

You da man!

*Just thought I’d root for ya a bit – might cheer ya up.*

All you cheerleaders! Sic him! Have at him! Pleasure him until he oh-so-quietly whispers “Help!” three times!

10. Enas Yorl - March 27, 2009

Thanks McGoo! I’m going to play some more tonight and see if I can collect more unique BSOD samples. I know I’ve seen at least two more previously. Then I’ll take it back down to the store and demand they fix or replace the thing.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

