jump to navigation

Knives Purchased February 26, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
trackback

In my family the men pretty much have a knife with them all the time. Usually it’s just a little pocket knife of some sort with two or three blades. My Dad has a little black Buck knife he’s had ever since I can remember and I carried an Old Timer two blade pocket knife for years until my Mom got me a real nice three blade (but still small) Case knife a while ago. My brother has sometihng similar. One of my fondest childhood memories was when I got my very first pocket knife on my seventh birthday. It was a beautiful white pearl handled thing and it was my most prized possesion. Dad taught me how to sharpen and take care of it and made me know in no uncertain terms that if he ever saw me use it irresponsibly that it would be taken away and I’d never see it again. I was always careful (well almost always, I hardly ever cut myself with it) and I’ve loved knives and sharp stuff in general ever since. Over the years I’ve picked up many knives large and small and I enjoy them all, but for general every day use it’s still the standard pocket knife that I have closest at hand. Or, at least until recently.

Some while back I came across a link to a blog called “To Which I Replied…” and read the guy’s post on Choosing and EDC Knife.  It’s an excellent post and it got me to thinking about my knives.  My thinking was running along the lines of “I don’t have enough knives” and “I should get another knife.”  I didn’t do anything about it for a while but the guy (ExistingThing) put up couple posts about a certain knife and I started to kind of obsess about it a bit.  Earlier this month I went down to a knife store to check them out and wound up getting one.  Here it is – the Benchmade 943:

Benchmade 943

It’s a beautiful knife and extremely well made.  It has the sharpest factory edge I’ve ever seen on a knife.  After a week or so couldn’t help myself and I bought another one.  This is the 940 with black coated blade and partial serration:

Benchmade 940 SK

Yes, they are expensive but they are worth it. The first one I paid full retail ($195) but I bought the other one online at a significant discount at $140. I’m thinking about getting my brother one for his birthday next month.

Comments

1. skinbad - February 26, 2009

You don’t need another brother, do you?

2. Enas Yorl - February 26, 2009

Ha! Not at the moment Mr. Skinbad, but I’ll keep your resumé on file. 😀

3. skinbad - February 27, 2009

I had to give it a shot. Cool knives. I have a little Buck for my pocket and keep a Leatherman multitool in my go-to-work bag. Kind of surprising how often they are useful–even for a (mostly) desk job.

4. Enas Yorl - February 27, 2009

Leatherman! Yup got one of those too. Very handy. They used to issue them to all field employees here. Hell, the may still do – it’s been a while since I was a field employee. They never asked for it back so I figure it’s mine as long as I’m here.

5. digitalbrownshirt - March 1, 2009

I’ve got a couple of leathermans and I had a nice Victorinox (?), but I gave it to my oldest boy when he left for Italy.

Kind of on topic: We’ve had a lot of down time at work so I’ve been experimenting with making a knife on some of our machines. So far I’ve been getting a bend in the metal when I get it down to around .100″ on a big Blanchard grinder. I might switch it out to the ancient Grand Rapid grinder to get it down to .050″, then cut the blade and handle shape out with a regular grinding wheel. I’ll probably wait until this spring to heat treat them outside in an open wood fire.

Keep in mind that I start with a 9″ piece of 2″ thick barstock.

6. ErnestThing - March 13, 2009

Since the site changeover, you might want to update the link to the following.

http://towhichireplied.blogspot.com/2006/09/choosing-edc-knife.html

Feel free to delete this comment once you receive it.

7. idoof - December 23, 2009

Leatherman 830850 Skeletool CX Multitool
Finally received my CX. Removing it from the package I was very pleased with the overall feel of the tool, the fit and finishes are excellent and there are no immediately noticeable sharp edges. It was slightly heavier than I thought it would be, a little heavier than my usual EDC pocket knife, but not bad. Like other reviewers before me I noticed that the carbon fiber may reduce the weight very slightly, however I think it mostly serves to make the tool more aesthetically pleasing. I don’t have the problems with the bits that another review had, the bit in the bit holder is held in by a catch that has to be depressed to remove the bit, The other bit is very secure in the handle, although it may get loose once there is some wear on the bit. The bottle opener works and now I’ll carry it around for a while and see how it feels in the pocket. All in all I’m very happy with the tool, it has most of the tools I use the most, lacking only the scissors, in a smaller lighter package.

Update – carried it around all day in business casual dress, the position of the pocket clip and the slim profile allow it to ride unobtrusively and comfortably in my pocket.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

