jump to navigation

Behold January 19, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Science & Technology.
trackback

My new car stereo/reciever!!  This is the Alpine CDA-9886

Awww yeah!

Awww yeah!

 The factory system in my Rav-4 has been dying for a while now so just after Christmas I went down to a local electronics store and picked out a nifty new stereo to replace it.  I was told that it was a very popular seller over the holidays and that they right out of them.  The guy also said that they were on back-order  and they expected to have new ones in stock in “about a week or so”.  I’m a patient man so I said “Okee dokee” and paid for the stereo and the installation up front.  The salesman assured me that he would call me as soon as they came in and arrange the appointment for the installation.

For the next three weeks I get versions of “Sorry, no they’re not in yet, but we’re certain they will be soon.”  Until finally “Ah, sorry Mr. Yorl but Alpine has discontinued production on that model you bought.  We’re going to have to do some sort of change-order.”  Sigh.  So this Saturday I went down to the store to see what else we can do.  Long story short I upgrade to the next model above for 55 bucks with 20 bucks knocked off for my trouble.  I finally got it installed this afternoon and I am well pleased with it.  I must say that I am somewhat baffled with the remote control that came with it.  WTH??  I guess it’s for the people in the back seat.

Comments

1. Steamboat McGoo - January 20, 2009

I got one of those remote controls for the last system I put in my car. I threw the RC into the glove box (years ago) and hadn’t thought about it again even once until just now. I, too, was puzzled as to just what I was supposed to do with it.

2. eddiebear - January 20, 2009

Niiiiicceee!

Oh, and buy a gun!

Just sayin’

3. Enas Yorl - January 21, 2009

Actually the remote control has turned out to be somewhat handy. With this system I can hook my iPod up to it via a cable in the glove compartment. I put the system on “shuffle play” so random songs are selected and played. I turns out I have a lot of crap on this thing that I’m usually not inclined to listen to so I have a really easy way to skip to the next song.

4. Steamboat McGoo - January 22, 2009

Ah. The interconnect-ability of the twenty-first century! You found a use for the thing.

Now…if you only had a really big-bore handgun, life would be perfect for you! I just happened to notice that you don’t have one yet…

Huh? I don’t have a clue why that came to mind. Why do you ask?

5. Enas Yorl - January 22, 2009

Is a .45 considered a big-bore gun McGoo? It seems like it should qualify but what do I know? I’m just an egg.

6. Steamboat McGoo - January 23, 2009

I forgot you own a .45! My bad…

7. Enas Yorl - January 23, 2009

Sorry to unintentionlally mislead you McGoo – I don’t have a .45 yet. It will be my next purchase though. I was just wondering if it met your approval. Currently I only have the .357 magnum. I’m going to broach the subject of his interest with a handgun purchase with Dad tomorrow.

8. Steamboat McGoo - January 24, 2009

A .45 fully meets with my approval – not that you need my approval! 🙂

We wus jus’ teasin’ you, Enas!

Um….how is the POS That Is Warshit doing? I would pack it (and a “deposit”) back in the box and COD it back to the mfgr.

9. Enas Yorl - January 24, 2009

Been busy with other crap McGoo so I haven’t messed with it recently. I downloaded another patch the other day, but it still doesn’t play.

10. Lemur King - January 30, 2009

Late to this particular post but may I point out that once again, it was *McGoo* who brought up guns, not I.

It’s not like I’m saying I’m superior because I didn’t, it’s just that he’s faster on the draw.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

