jump to navigation

I Don’t Need This January 15, 2009

Posted by Mitchell in Billiards.
trackback

I got an email today from the online store where I bought some pool stuff earlier this year (pool as in the billiard game, not the splashing/swimming/Marco! Polo! kind).  They have a Lucasi break cue on sale.  Get out of here!  I don’t need no break cue.  I’ve never had a Lucasi cue but I played around with some in a store recently and they’re pretty nice.  Again, not that it matters – I don’t need one anyway.  Of course, some of you probably don’t play pool all that much and don’t know what a “break cue” is do you?  It’s a cue specifically designed for the opening “break” shot in a game of pool and it’s reinforced at the joint and tip for that really heavy powered shot.  Yup, it’s a cue you only use once per game.  That’s crazy!  Who needs that? 

 

And I don’t really care that the sale is for 60% off.  Really?  A $395 pool cue for $158??  Come on – I’ve got better things to spend my money on.  Heck, I still have to pay for Christmas stuff!  Well, no not really I guess.  I already paid those bills.  But still – I’ve got other bills.  Besides the shipping is gonna crank up the price on that a fair amount I’m guessing.  Let me check.  Aha!  See, there ya go – free shipping included.  Hm.  Well I’d need an extra case to go with it too, and who wants to go around carrying two cases?  Not me.  Of course they offer a free case to go with it.  Or I could upgrade to a two cue case for like 39 bucks more.  That’s actually a pretty good price.

 

Not that I’m really interested.  No sirreee.  Not.At.All.

Comments

1. Steamboat McGoo - January 19, 2009

It’s been four days.
Sooo…..how’s the new cue and case? 🙂

2. Enas Yorl - January 19, 2009

I don’t have it yet McGoo. It’s delivery is scheduled for next Friday. I just couldn’t pass that price up.

3. Steamboat McGoo - January 19, 2009

I knew it! Heh! Temptation – thy name is billiards cue!

I know how it goes. When I used to do ammunition reloading, Midway (a big reloading supply mail-order house) would send me a monthly flier listing the sales items. Receipt of this flier was almost always followed by another phone order to them.

I’m about to get into it again. The first Midway order in 14 years will occur soon. I wonder if I’m still in their files or database?

4. john poolcue - March 4, 2009

There are many designs which makes the room very attractive and which looks very wonderful. So when the pool tables are brought bring according to the room size and should be attractive.

5. Steamboat McGoo - March 4, 2009

Well, there ya go, Enas. John Poolcue (comment above) has quality poolcues at the astounding once-in-a-lifetime price of $29.95!

Now who can argue with that? For the price of one Lucasi, you can have five – five! – quality pool cues. One for each member of the fambly! get your dog one, too!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

