jump to navigation

Sweet! September 27, 2008

Posted by Mitchell in Home, Juggling, Science & Technology.
trackback

I now have a wireless internet access point set up for my home!  The security was a bit of a pain to set up, but I have at least password protection and the firewall set up.  There are some stronger measures I can take and I’ll look at those too.  One setting is that the WAP is invisible to any computer that isn’t named the same as the modem and another where it only allows access to a list of defined MACs.  After some poking around I managed to find out what that MAC is for this computer and where the system name is set.  Thank goodness I took a computer networking class a few years ago or I’d be completely lost.  Anyway, now I can be downstairs watching TV AND surf the net!  My enslackerification continues.

Now I have a cable modem for my xbox and I can start getting into xbox live!  Hmm.  Well I just had a thought.  I have one cable modem upstairs, so how is another active cable modem on the same system going to work?  Can it work?  Maybe not.  When I got this new one I had to first go over to COX to get the new modem set up before I could get access to anything else.  I betcha I can only have one of these things running at a time.  Now, I could put the new wireless modem downstairs and have the xbox connected via UBS and freerange with the laptop elsewhere.  Well, no that’s not going to work with the TV downstairs.  I could put in a splitter, but then I could only have TV and regular xbox but no internet and xbox live, or I can have internet AND xbox live but no cable TV.  Ehhhh, no.  That’s not going to work.  OK, I can put the old modem downstairs on the xbox, put in a splitter and make sure I only have one of the modems running at any one time.  I guess that might work.  We’ll find out, I guess.

Comments

1. Enas Yorl - September 27, 2008

Yes! I am roaming! Unfortunately I had left my laptop plugged in all the time so now my battery life is crap so I’m still “wired” in one way. Now, if there was only something worth watching on TV.

2. S. Weasel - September 28, 2008

Yay! Home wifi is the *best*. Sitting up in bed watching reruns of Emergency! on Hulu. Nice. (And you can plug in from there. My battery life is also the pits).

And wait until you discover toilet-blogging…

3. Enas Yorl - September 28, 2008

Toilet-blogging?? Oh dear, the mind boggles.

Unnhh! UHHH! Oh YEAH! Crikey I really squeezed out a monster today! Hey everybody – come take a look!

Yeeahhh, probably not.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

