jump to navigation

Odds ‘n Ends September 18, 2008

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Home, Science Fiction & Fantasy.
trackback

It’s a bit of a grab bag today.

Ceramics
In tonight’s ceramics class I get to see if my mugs survived their first firing.  I’m a bit concerned about the second one because during the drying process the bottom of the handle where it attaches to the body was cracking a bit.  I patched with with some slip until the crack didn’t show anymore, but that doesn’t always work.  I guess we’ll see.  Assuming they survive I now have to think about what glazes to use.  Since we’re using medium-fire clay and glazes the real glassy stuff I like to use are off the menu.  Hmmmm.

I’m currently working on a big, multipiece thing and I’m hoping to get it all put together tonight.  I’ll get some pictures up if I do.

Politics
Hey, I got polled last night about the upcoming presidential election!  This was my first time ever too, so I polled it good and hard and made sure the guy knew exactly where I stood in respect to the candidates.  None of that squishy moderate stuff for me – all the partisan dials were pushed to 11 baby. Unfortunately they didn’t have a “When Hell Freezes Over” category for my likelyhood of voting for BO and I had to settle for “Extremely Unlikely” or somesuch. Oh well.

Movies
I finished watching Hitchcock’s Rear Window last weekend. One word reveiw: Meh. For a “suspense” movie it was actually kinda boring. Is it that we just don’t have the patience for those kinds of films anymore? I dunno. My tastes have changed though – I used to like the slasher/horror/gorefests but I couldn’t watch the last “Saw” movie and sent back “Devil’s Rejects” mostly unwatched too. I just have no desire to see that kind of stuff any more. I think my attitude change started with “Cabin Fever” a few years back.

Anyway, do y’all have any suggestions for something good? My netflix queue is getting kinda low. Oh, and can anyone explain the ending to “No Country for Old Men” to me and why that suckfest got “Best Picture”?

Games
I did pretty good at my pool league last Monday. We played the best team in the league and I held my own against them, winning more than 50% of my games. Alas my other teammates didn’t fare nearly so well so we were generally crushed overall.

It was fairly late when I got back home that night(> 11 pm) so stayed up a bit longer and went down to Gamestop to pick up my reserved copy of “The Force Unleashed” at midnight. There were probably a dozen other goobers there too who couldn’t wait to get their mitts on the game. One guy said he was going to play it all night and call in sick to work the next morning.  I didn’t play any that night, nor the next but I did play for a bit last night.  One word review:  Impressive!  Most impressive.  This game is going to be a blast. 

Whelp, that’s it for now.  I’ll type at you later.

Comments

1. Lemur King - September 21, 2008

No Country for Old Men.

Hmm.

Several things I noticed. The movie was not about cop chasing bad guy. It was more about chance, as far as I could tell. It wasn’t about drugs, and it certainly wasn’t about the idiot who stole the money.

The idiot comes across money and drugs by chance. Innocent bystanders get whacked by chance. Non-target victims of Chigurh’s live or die by the toss of a coin. The only people that don’t get a chance are those that made the wrong choices (got in his way) or had something Chigurh needed to complete his task. Although, it was interesting at the end – he actually bargained for his life, which he allowed no one else to do when they bargained for theirs. He actually bargained for the shirt, which as I write this it seems significant.

OR, it was just a story about a killer with absolutely no sense of empathy whatsoever. I once saw an interview by a psychologist who was studying the Iceman – a hit man for the mafia. His eyes were dead, and the only emotion he ever felt was anger. And you could tell – it was if the guy was interviewing a deep-sea fish. Chigurh didn’t even feel that. A 100% socio/psychopath. He had some sort of reason or framework that he held everything up by and it was mainly driven by this intelligence that was as stunted as it was fortified.

The sheriff really seems to me to be a vehicle for the telling of the story. The story didn’t really try to teach you anything, it just was.

I liked it, even if Chigurh was the stone-coldest killer I’ve seen in a movie for a long long time.

2. Enas Yorl - September 22, 2008

So…it was a movie about nothing then? Just random death via whackjob? Meh. When I watch a movie I want a story to go along with it. This failed as a story and I stand by my “suckfest” One Word Review.

Oh, I suppose one could make the case that “Pulp Fiction” was kinda like this in that we never found out what the case was all about, or even “Fargo” where we never find out why Macy needed all that money, so the “real” story in each case wasn’t the obvious one. If that’s what NCFOM was trying to do it still failed. There was still some sort of point to everything in those others where there wasn’t here.

Still, oscar for “Best Picture” last year? Really?? I guess with all the anti-Bush box office bombs Hollyweird was throwing last year it didn’t have much competition.

3. Lemur King - September 22, 2008

Pulp Fiction – damn good movie! I loved the way the story unfolded and my favorite was how you finally saw Jules give the robbers a chance. How he eventually comes around in the diner. The monologue:

Or it could be you’re the righteous man and I’m the shepherd and it’s the world that’s evil and selfish. I’d like that. But that shit ain’t the truth. The truth is you’re the weak. And I’m the tyranny of evil men. But I’m tryin’, Ringo. I’m tryin’ real hard to be a shepherd.

That made the movie for me.

You could make the argument that Vincent died because he was trying to poison Jules, and you could make the argument that Butch lived because he was his brother’s keeper.

Ultimately? I think Samuel L. Jackson rules.

NCFOM… I don’t know why exactly but I liked it. Academy Award? Meh. Ok, whatever. You know what struck me the most? The utterly realistic compound fracture Chigurh had. I had several hours to look at my own arm in that state, and his injury made my blood run cold in empathy even if he was a nasty sonofabitch. I can’t see how he could walk afterward. I tried and my legs were wobbly as a newborn colt’s.

4. Retired Geezer - September 23, 2008

Hey Enas, do you ever play Rainbow Six Vegas 2 on xbox live?

What’s your GamerTag?

5. Enas Yorl - September 23, 2008

Hey RG! No, I don’t have xbox live, sorry. 😦

I tried playing that game a bit but the copy I was playing had a problem with the disk so I didn’t get very far.

6. Lemur King - September 23, 2008

I’m dying for Far Cry 2. Soon, my precious, soon…


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

