jump to navigation

I Want to Get The Shaft July 21, 2008

Posted by Mitchell in Home.
Tags:
trackback

I want to get it long, hard, and straight.  It’s been a while since I’ve thought about getting the shaft, and they’ve got a better one out there than the last time I looked.  Unfortunately the particular shaft I’m interested in is no longer sold here in Las Vegas.  This utterly astounds me.  If there’s anyplace in the U.S. where you could get a shaft any time day or night it would be here.  Or at least I thought so.  I used to be able to get the shaft here, but that business shut down and it’s a fabric store now.  I drove by yesterday to confirm the damage.  Sad.  Oh sure, I can still get the shaft online, but I wanted the more personal experience of getting the shaft in the old-fashioned brick & mortar place.

Hmmmmmmm.  I looked around for other places to get the shaft.  Phoenix, AZ seems to be the closest, but I’m not going to drive all that way just to get the shaft.  Plus with fuel costs?  That’s just crazy.  The shaft is expensive enough as it is, and I’m not going to get shafted getting the shaft.

What?  You’re tired of the “Shaft” innuendo?  Already?  I didn’t even get around to the obligigatory “Shaft” You-Tube post with the “They say this cat is a bad mother – SHUT YOUR MOUTH – I’m just talkin’ about Shaft! – I can dig it!” line!  Yah OK.  I just worked it in without the actual you-tube video.  You know what?  After watching the intro credits I’m pretty certain now that I’ve never actually watched an episode of “Shaft”.  Eh, whatever.

Behold the Shaft:  A Predator Z²!  That would be a new shaft for my pool cue.  And, yeah, they cost around 300 bucks with a tip upgrade at full retail.  Dogpiling around the interwebberytubes it seems that I can get one between $247 and $266.  Ahhhhh, still so pricey though.  And I’ve never even played with one.  But I waaaaaaaants it!!

I’ve signed up for a 9-ball pool league that starts up next week, hence my reawakened interest in upgrading my equipment.  When I bought my current Viking cue a few years ago I picked up a nice case for it too and it has a space for a second shaft.  It’s like this cue was destined to have two shafts for it doesn’t it?  Who can stand in the way of Destiny right?

Comments

1. ~KC~ - July 22, 2008

Dear lord… the expression ‘getting the shaft‘ in these here parts is to be fired!!! I was wondering if you were looking for a new employment opportunity!!!

But I see – I have a pool (billiards) table that came with the house that I bought. A boston style – full oak – beautiful table in my fully finished lofted attic – that I don’t use. I don’t play pool – and it would be cool to have people to shoot pool with – but nope.

Try ebay… you might get one cheaper than what you’ve seen… I dunno. Maybe?

2. Lemur King - July 22, 2008

Enas, you need to let this side of you out more.

You had me going… 🙂

3. Enas Yorl - July 22, 2008

KC, “getting the shaft” can mean getting fired here too, but its more generically used sense is more like getting the bad (or raw) end of a deal.

That’s a shame to have a nice table and never play on it! Still, it’s not everyone’s game. My Mom never plays either.

This isn’t really the sort of thing to try get and second-hand. The biggest danger with cues and shafts is warpage and other damage that ruin or compromise them. Plus the warrenty from the manufacturer is very important and they typically aren’t transferrable. That’s certainly the case for Predator stuff.

I’m not bothered by the price all that much really. You get what you pay for and all that. No, I hesitate because of the potential for damage in shipping – warping in the heat and whatnot. Still, one site said it had a policy of 30 day returns – no questions asked. I’m gonna look around some more about that.

4. kevlarchick - July 24, 2008

Poor Enas. No one understands him but his woman.

5. S. Weasel - July 24, 2008

Was Shaft a series? I thought it was a movie. Or maybe a series of movies.

Get yourself a shaft, Enas. One of the percs of being single is being able to spend obscene money on your whims.

6. Enas Yorl - July 24, 2008

Huh. IMDB sez it was both. A couple movies in ’71 and ’73, then a TV series ’73 – ’74 and then movie reboot in 2000.

Yah, I’ve decided to get it. One site has a generous 90-day return policy (even if it’s been used) and a reasonable 2-day UPS shipping price. One had an unreasonable $50 2-day shipping charge. WTH??

I have to order it next Monday to make sure it comes directly here, not sitting around in some unconditioned warehouse warping into a corkscrew over the weekend.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

