jump to navigation

Finished Painting May 25, 2008

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Politics.
trackback

Here he is, in all his glory purpleosity.  Clicky for full size.

I need a title for this piece.  Any ideas?

I still have no idea for a title for this piece.  I am glad it’s finally done. 

I had some big problems with this guy and I’m glad that he came out as well as he did.  He was supposed to be lighter than this, and the washes I used in the test phases were.  But, I didn’t use the same type of paper for the tests as the painting, so they came out quite different.  Also, I now know not to leave the paint resist on the paper very long.  This gave me the same problem I had with an earlier tree painting with the fibers fuzzing up on me.  This led to the paint not blending the way I wanted too. Oh well.  With the new techniques I’m learning, I won’t be using the resist very much anyway.

***Update***

Oh, yeah.  WAY too purple too.  He was supposed to be red-brownish with purple and gold/orangey tinges.   Oh well.

Happy Memorial Day everyone!

Comments

1. Steamboat McGoo - May 25, 2008

I think it looks damned good, Enas! It appears you made the reflections of the blood-trees stronger. And the tree-gnome (was that what it was called?) is great! I lke the veining and the itty-bitty limbs up on top.

2. Enas Yorl - May 25, 2008

Thanks McGoo! It turned out better than it ought to have. The blended wash went WAY wrong, but the dark details pulled it out.

Kevlarchick compared it to a gargoyle. I thought treegoyle wasn’t bad. According to Tolkien, such a creature is an Ent or Huron.

There’s a relationship between the bloodtrees and the treedude, but I don’t know what that relationship is. It’s something I have to think about and explore in other paintings.

3. Lemur King - May 25, 2008

Treedude? I like!

Looks very good Enas. I’m glad that you’ve solved some of the sticky issue with the paper – or at least that is what I think you said.

For some reason I see the trees in the background as being less developed than the tree in the foreground. Makes me think of a title like “Deciduous Transformations”.

An’ a happy Memorial Day to you too. And to any vets out there: Thanks, you are appreciated.

4. Steamboat McGoo - May 26, 2008

Treegoyle! Yeah, that was what I was trying to remember.

5. S. Weasel - May 26, 2008

Very nice. Is this on the expensive paper?

6. Enas Yorl - May 26, 2008

Thanks Weasel! This is on 300 lb Kilimanjaro paper from Cheap Joe’s. Currently it’s about $6.82 per sheet for five sheets. So, not particularly expensive for 300 lb stuff. I have a full sheet of Arches 140 lb stretched up in my new frame. I’m gonna give it another try.

Thank you too LK! Yah, I’m pretty sure the paint resist is the culprit. I’m going to do some tests to make sure.

7. Mr Minority - May 27, 2008

The treegoyle looks like he is a pla-yer!

Flashing his root to the bloodtrees, he is.

8. Lemur King - May 27, 2008

Can you picture a Level 7 Treegoyle Mage casting a fireball spell at the WereTrees of Chippermill?

Me neither but it’d be cool.

Don’t ask me where that came from, because I don’t know. Stuff like this is why I spent so much time with the principal in school.

9. Enas Yorl - May 27, 2008

Nrrrk.

You’ve captured it. This painting is totally High School isn’t it? Suessian shapes and cartoony colors with D&D/Tolkeinishitarian overtones. The more I look at it the less I like it.

Ohhh, this is bad.

I need to completely rethink what I’m doing here.

10. Lemur King - May 27, 2008

Oh that was so NOT what I meant dude. I thought a bit about why those things came to mind.

It’s surreal. The idea of a Level 7 Treegoyle is surreal. Especially one with a fetish for flames. Were-Trees sound like the lamest were-creature around (besides were-toilets) so it was funny. Not nearly as funny as miniature giant space hamsters, but a great visual. Sorry, it’s the way my brain connects things.

The honest truth is I like a tree that looks like it’s still rooted but altering itself to take a step.

Stuff like this is why I spent so much time

That was referring to my mouthing off with all sorts of bizarre linkages of real/unreal. It was fun.

11. composmentis - May 28, 2008

Dude, that thing is a cool trip. Nicely done! You have some talent 🙂

12. Enas Yorl - May 28, 2008

Thank you Compos. I’m not as fond of it as I once was though.

Lemur King. I know that was not what you meant, but your comment crystallized a realization in myself which in turn shined the light of a perspective that revealed some very glaring problems. Thank you for your input, it was VERY useful.

13. eddiebear - May 28, 2008

Well done.

Sorry I didn’t retrieve your comment on my site from the Spam Filter sooner.

I guess I better clean it out more often

14. Lemur King - May 30, 2008

As a general broadcast comment – is this something new going on with akismet? I never heard so many people get scraped off into the spitoon of the blogosphere until recently.

I mean, Enas did a nuclear strike to ensure that he went there but I’ve seen stuff get scraped that was so tame that Fantasia makes it look like a snuff film.

I am sorry I crystallized you Enas.

I’ve always wanted to say something like that. Now I have. I’m good to go now.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

