jump to navigation

Down and Foreward May 16, 2008

Posted by Mitchell in Art.
Tags: ,
trackback

No doubt you were wondering what I was going to do between the red trees and the main figure.  So was I.

The Bloodtrees were on a little hill of there own and I thought about extending the grassy field over to the main dude.  Eh.  That would be lame though.  I started scratching around with my pencil, laying out some textures.  Hmm.  How about some broken ground there at the hill extending down to…water?  Hmm?  That would be cool.  But too hard maybe – water is tricksy.

I decided to delay deciding and went in with the brokenish ground at the base of the trees and around to the other side of the figure.  I did it wet-in-wet with greens and browns to keep it spontaneous.  Not bad!  It still needs some punching up in spots, but I liked the overall effect. 

I thought for a bit about the next section and decided to go for it.

The next stage

I put down some paint resist to keep some highlights for water ripples and then laid in the sky reflecton.  While still wet I put in the tree reflectons with a darker, but thinner red.  I let it dry and then looked at what I’d done. 

Nice!  I was and am very pleased so far.  The instructor advised me to punch up the tree reflectons a bit with a stronger color, and he’s right.  It shouldn’t be too hard though.  He then asked me (again) what color I was going to paint the main figure.  That was a very good question.  I had no idea.  I went back to my palette and started mixing paints… 

Comments

1. Steamboat McGoo - May 18, 2008

Very nice! And – you’re right – it seems a bit Dr. Seuss-ish. Or Heavy Metal-ish. Not a copy, mind you – just a slightly similar style, but with differences.

The red trees are awesome. I think you’re instructor is right; the reflections need to be stronger to reflect the strong red in the trees.

I know nothing about art, Enas, but you appear to be coming along quite rapidly. Your sincere interest and determination shows. I suspect that its like all creative endeavors: practice, practice, practice. But to someone who loves their craft, that really becomes simply fun, fun, fun.

2. Lemur King - May 18, 2008

McGoo, it can’t be Heavy Metal (ish) unless there are… what’s the term … uh… oh yeah.. boobies.

I, uh, learned that from South Park. Yeah, that’s it. If you haven’t seen it, that was the episode where having a cat spray in your face took you to the Heavy Metal universe and there were lots of … you know. People were gettng addicted to cat spray. Pretty freaking funny. Wife was laughing but disgusted at the same time.

Well, my co-worker is almost here so ta-ta (oops) for now.

3. Steamboat McGoo - May 19, 2008

That’s right, LK!

Hey, Enas! You’re gettin’ this tree shit down real good! When you gonna do boobies?

🙂 Just teasin’ man. 🙂

4. Enas Yorl - May 19, 2008

Painting regular looking human-type wimmen folk? Hmm. I dunno McGoo, that seems highly unusual. 😉

5. kevlarchick - May 21, 2008

That white figure in the front looks like a gargoyle facing sideways with his arms up.

6. Enas Yorl - May 21, 2008

Hey, long time no see, KC!

Treegoyle. I like it!

7. Steamboat McGoo - May 22, 2008

I didn’t see that – but I sure do now. Neat.

8. Steamboat McGoo - May 22, 2008

Oh. it’s looking at the red tree victims.

9. Slaggy - June 19, 2008

Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

cheers, Slaggy.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

