jump to navigation

Paper Experiments May 4, 2008

Posted by Mitchell in Art, Science & Technology.
trackback

Following up on my hunch last night I soaked a smallish piece of the 300 lb paper in a bucket, half in and half out for about 5 – 6 hours.  I let the paper dry all night and went to work on it this morning.  I painted new swatches of color across both sides, paying particular attention to the phthalo and indanthrone blues, which seem to have it the worst problems.   There wasn’t any appreciable difference in the appearance once dried.  So much for that theory.  I’ve tried getting a good picture of the problem so y’all can see what the hell I’m talking about, but I can’t get this futzy camera to focus in close enough.  Anyway, I started fooling around to see what else I can do.  Pre-wetting an area doesn’t work.  I had an idea about using some gum arabic to pre-treat an area and that actually does work!  No specks!  Unfortunately, that makes the paint kinda glossy, which is okay by itself, but if I put another color next to it and don’t use the gum arabic it looks different.  Grrr.  I’ve just about come to the conclusion that I’m just not an “Arches” dude.  Oh well – it’s made in France anyway.

Comments

1. Lemur King - May 6, 2008

Go to Weasel’s site, look for the comment she makes about rabbit’s milk being *POWERFUL*, who knows, it could be the magic bullet? 🙂

Really, I wish I could help you bud, but that’s out of my area of knowledge, like so many other things.

2. S. Weasel - May 7, 2008

What can I say? I never made a decent painting on Arches. I wanted to. It was so seductive and expensive…

3. Enas Yorl - May 12, 2008

Test

4. Enas Yorl - May 12, 2008

Dammit. I can’t even comment on my own blog without getting thrown into the spam bucket.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

